HomeWorld CupODIICC ODI World Cup 2023 Injured Players List & Replacements

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Injured Players List & Replacements

World Cup 2023 Injured Players List/World Cup 2023 injury list: As of every other tournament, players tend to skip/miss the grand ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 tournament due to various reasons.

Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Injured Players List

World Cup 2023 Injured Players List/World Cup 2023 injury list: As per the ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 schedule, England and New Zealand will play the first match of the tournament on October 5 at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. A total of 48 matches will be played between 10 participating teams across 10 venues in different cities across India.

It will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India; three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011. As of the previous edition, the 2023 edition will also follow the same format where each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage where a total of 45 group matches will be played.

The top 4 teams of the ICC ODI World Cup points table will enter the knockout stage to play semifinal 1 and semifinal 2.

Check out the Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Injured Players List with replacement players details below:

The list will be updated here after the official announcements!!!

Team Injured Player Replacement Player
South Africa Anrich Nortje Andile Phehlukwayo
South Africa Sisanda Magala Lizaad Williams
Pakistan Naseem Shah Hasan Ali
Sri Lanka Wanindu Hasaranga Dushan Hemantha
Australia Ashton Agar Marnus Labuschagne
India Axar Patel R Ashwin

Anrich Nortje

Anrich Nortje who is currently considered one of the fastest bowlers in world cricket suffered a back injury during the second ODI of the five-match series against Australia, which took place on his home turf.

Nortje featured in the second ODI and bowled only five overs before walking off the field due to back spams. He returned to the field in the second innings, scoring 10 runs with the bat while batting at No. 10 during the run chase. His back injury subsequently ruled him out for the remainder of the series as well as ruled him out of World Cup 2023.

Andile Phehlukwayo has been named as his replacement for the World Cup 2023. Phehlukwayo, who recently played in the second and fifth ODIs against Australia, showcased his skills by taking one wicket in each match and contributing a rapid 38* from 19 balls in the fifth ODI.

Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje(Image: CSA)

Sisanda Magala

Along with Anrich Nortje, Sisanda Magala who suffered a knee injury also missed out on the World Cup 2023. Magala, who is down with a knee injury, made his sole appearance in the third ODI against Australia, in which he bowled just four overs.

Lizaad Williams has been named as his replacement for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023.

Sisanda Magala
Sisanda Magala(Image: Twitter)

Naseem Shah

Naseem Shah sustained an injury on his right shoulder during the game against India in the Super Fours of the Asia Cup where India won with a 228-run difference.  The scans revealed he was injured worse than expected and will be ruled out of the marquee tournament in India.

Hasan Ali has featured in 60 ODIs since his debut in 2017, dismissing 91 wickets at an average of 30.36. His last ODI appearance was in the home series against New Zealand in January 2023 in Karachi.

Hasan Ali has been named as his replacement for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023.

Naseem Shah
Naseem Shah

ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 Squad

World Cup 2023 Injured Players List/World Cup 2023 injury list: Under ICC regulations squads must be finalised prior to September 28, with Australia’s first game at this year’s World Cup coming against hosts India in Chennai on October 8.

Check out the full ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 Squad for all 10 teams below:


Player Role
Rohit Sharma(c) Batsman
Shubman Gill Batsman
Virat Kohli Batsman
Shreyas Iyer Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav Batsman
Ishan Kishan(wk) WK-Batsman
KL Rahul(wk) WK-Batsman
Hardik Pandya(vc) Allrounder
Ravindra Jadeja Allrounder
Axar Patel Allrounder
Shardul Thakur Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah Bowler
Mohammad Shami Bowler
Mohammad Siraj Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler


Player Role
Travis Head Batter
Steve Smith Batter
David Warner Batter
Sean Abbott All-rounder
Cameron Green All-rounder
Mitchell Marsh All-rounder
Glenn Maxwell All-rounder
Marcus Stoinis All-rounder
Alex Carey Wicket-keeper
Josh Inglis Wicket-keeper
Ashton Agar Spin Bowler
Adam Zampa Spin Bowler
Mitchell Starc Pace Bowler
Josh Hazlewood Pace Bowler
Pat Cummins (c) Pace Bowler

South Africa

Player Role
Temba Bavuma Batsman
Reeza Hendricks Batsman
Rassie Van Der Dussen Batsman
Aiden Markram Batsman
David Miller Batsman
Quinton de Kock WK-Batsman
Heinrich Klaasen WK-Batsman
Marco Jansen Allrounder
Andile Phehlukwayo Allrounder
Gerald Coetzee Bowler
Keshav Maharaj Bowler
Lungi Ngidi Bowler
Lizaad Williams Bowler
Kagiso Rabada Bowler
Tabraiz Shamsi Bowler


Player Role
Max O’Dowd Batsman
Vikram Singh Batsman
Wesley Barresi Batsman
Sybrand Engelbrecht Batsman
Scott Edwards (c) Wicket-keeper
Bas de Leede All-rounder
Teja Nidamanuru All-rounder
Colin Ackermann All-rounder
Roelof van der Merwe All-rounder
Saqib Zulfiqar All-rounder
Shariz Ahmad Spin bowler
Aryan Dutt Spin bowler
Paul van Meekeren Pace bowler
Logan van Beek Pace bowler
Ryan Klein Pace bowler


Player Role
Dawid Malan Batter
Joe Root Batter
Harry Brook Batter
Jos Buttler (c) Wicket-keeper
Jonny Bairstow Wicket-keeper
Moeen Ali All-rounder
Sam Curran All-rounder
Liam Livingstone All-rounder
Ben Stokes All-rounder
David Willey All-rounder
Chris Woakes All-rounder
Adil Rashid Spin bowler
Gus Atkinson Pace bowler
Reece Topley Pace bowler
Mark Wood Pace bowler


Batter Role
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c) Batsman
Ibrahim Zadran Batsman
Najibullah Zadran Batsman
Riaz Hassan Batsman
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk) Wicket-keeper
Ikram Alikhil Wicket-keeper
Rahmat Shah All-rounder
Mohammad Nabi All-rounder
Omarzai All-rounder
Rashid Khan All-rounder
Noor Ahmad Spin Bowler
Mujeeb-ur-Rahman Spin Bowler
Abdul Rahman Pace Bowler
Fazalhaq Farooqi Pace Bowler
Naveen-ul-Haq Pace Bowler

New Zealand

Batter Role
Kane Williamson (c) Batter
Glenn Phillips Batter
Will Young Batter
Devon Conway Wicket-keeper
Tom Latham Wicket-keeper
Mark Chapman All-rounder
Daryl Mitchell All-rounder
Jimmy Neesham All-rounder
Rachin Ravindra All-rounder
Mitch Santner All-rounder
Ish Sodhi Spin Bowler
Trent Boult Pace Bowler
Lockie Ferguson Pace Bowler
Matt Henry Pace Bowler
Tim Southee Pace Bowler


Player Role
Babar Azam (c) Batsman
Fakhar Zaman Batsman
Imam-ul-Haq Batsman
Abdullah Shafique Batsman
Saud Shakeel Batsman
Iftikhar Ahmed Batsman
Mohammad Rizwan Wicket-keeper
Salman Ali Agha All-rounder
Mohammad Nawaz All-rounder
Mohammad Wasim All-rounder
Shadab Khan All-rounder
Usama Mir Spin bowler
Haris Rauf Pace bowler
Hasan Ali Pace bowler
Shaheen Afridi Pace bowler


Will update soon

Sri Lanka

Will update soon

More interesting topics on ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: 

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read