U19 World Cup Winners, Runner-up, Player of the Tournament Since 1988

U19 World Cup Winners

U19 World Cup Winners: The ICC Under 19 World Cup is an international cricket tournament organised by ICC where Under 19 teams will compete for the trophy. The tournament was first held in 1988 where Australia won the tournament.

Notably, only 8 teams have participated in the first edition of the tournament while every subsequent edition has included sixteen teams. Following the first edition in 1988, the tournament was not staged again until 1998.

U19 World Cup Winners

India U19 teams have etched their name for most times(5) in the “U19 World Cup Winners” List. Australia have won three times, Pakistan twice, while Bangladesh, England, South Africa and the West Indies won the trophy once each.

On the other hand, New Zealand and Sri Lanka have reached the tournament finals without winning. Check out the Full list of “U19 World Cup Winners” with player of the final, player of the tournament and host nation below:

Year Winner Player of the Final Player of the Tournament Host Country
2024 TBA TBA TBA South Africa
2022 India Raj Bawa(IND) Dewald Brevis(SA) West Indies
2020 Bangladesh Akbar Ali(BAN) Yashasvi Jaiswal(IND) South Africa
2018 India Manjot Kalra(IND) Shubman Gill(IND) New Zealand
2016 West Indies Keacy Carty(WI) Mehedi Hasan(BAN) Bangladesh
2014 South Africa Corbin Bosch(SA) Aiden Markram(SA) UAE
2012 India Unmukt Chand(IND) Will Bosisto(AUS) Australia
2010 Australia Josh Hazlewood(AUS) Dominic Hendricks(SA) New Zealand
2008 India Ajitesh Argal(IND) Tim Southee(NZ) Malaysia
2006 Pakistan Anwar Ali(PAK) Cheteshwar Pujara(IND) Sri Lanka
2004 Pakistan Asif Iqbal(PAK) Shikhar Dhawan(IND) Bangladesh
2002 Australia Aaron Bird(AUS) Tatenda Taibu(ZIM) New Zealand
2000 India Reetinder Sodhi(IND) Yuvraj Singh(IND) Sri Lanka
1998 England Stephen Peters(ENG) Not Awarded South Africa
1988 Australia Brett Williams(AUS) Not Awarded Australia

U19 World Cup Runner-up

Following are the details of the ICC Men’s U19 World Cup Runner-up list for every tournament year:

Year Runner-Up
2024 TBA
2022 England
2020 India
2018 Australia
2016 India
2014 Pakistan
2012 Australia
2010 Pakistan
2008 South Africa
2006 India
2004 West Indies
2002 South Africa
2000 Sri Lanka
1998 New Zealand
1988 Pakistan

Most Runs in U19 World Cup Season Wise

Following are the details of the players with the Most Runs in U19 World Cup – season wise below:

Year Player(Runs) Team
2024 TBA TBA
2022 Dewald Brevis (506) South Africa
2020 Yashasvi Jaiswal (400) India
2018 Alick Athanaze (418) West Indies
2016 Jack Burnham (420) England
2014 Shadman Islam (406) Bangladesh
2012 Anamul Haque (365) Bangladesh
2010 Dominic Hendricks (391) South Africa
2008 Tanmay Srivastava (262) India
2006 Cheteshwar Pujara (349) India
2004 Shikhar Dhawan (505) India
2002 Cameron White (423) Australia
2000 Graeme Smith (348) West Indies
1998 Chris Gayle (364) West Indies
1988 Brett Williams (471) Australia

Most Wickets in U19 World Cup Season Wise

Following are the details of the players with the Most Wickets in U19 World Cup – season wise below:

Year Player(Wickets) Team
2024 TBA TBA
2022 Dunith Wellalage (17) Sri Lanka
2020 Ravi Bishnoi (17) India
2018 Anukul Roy (14) India
Qais Ahmad (14) Afghanistan
Faisal Jamkhandi (14) Canada
2016 Fritz Coetzee (15) Namibia
2014 Anuk Fernando (15) Sri Lanka
2012 Reece Topley (19) England
2010 Raymond Haoda (15) Papua New Guinea
2008 Wayne Parnell (18) South Africa
2006 Moises Henriques (16) Australia
2004 Enamul Haque (22) Bangladesh
2002 Xavier Doherty (16) Australia
Waddington Mwayenga (16) Zimbabwe
2000 Zahid Saeed (15) Pakistan
1998 Ramnaresh Sarwan (16) West Indies
Mluleki Nkala (16) Zimbabwe
1988 Wayne Holdsworth (19) Australia
Mushtaq Ahmed (19) Pakistan

India in U19 World Cup Position All Year History

Apart from winning the trophy 5 times in the tournament, check out India’s position in U19 World Cup All-Year History.

* – On going season

Year Position
2024 Q*
2022 1st
2020 2nd
2018 1st
2016 2nd
2014 5th
2012 1st
2010 6th
2008 1st
2006 2nd
2004 3rd
2002 3rd
2000 1st
1998 5th
1988 6th