Big Bash League 2020 schedule and squad

This summer’s Big Bash League will run for more than 60 days and feature its earliest ever start when the first ball is bowled on December 3.

Cricket Australia on Wednesday announced plans for a full Twenty20 Big Bash League season starting in December but acknowledged the schedule could be affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 10th BBL will begin on December 3 when the Adelaide Strikers host the Melbourne Renegades, followed by 60 matches across the country and a final on February 6.

BBL 10 Fixture
BBL 10 Fixture

The ambitious fixture list, which will follow the Women’s Big Bash League played from October 17 to November 29, means Cricket Australia will meet its commitments to broadcasters and will not face penalties for reduced content.

The Women’s Big Bash League will be bigger than ever off the back of Australia’s T20 World Cup win in early March. The fixture has been scheduled to start in October, while the season will feature a three-week Sydney hub for all eight clubs.

However, the schedule could still face problems as interstate travel in Australia is currently restricted after Melbourne and Sydney experienced new coronavirus outbreaks recently.

Cricket Australia’s Big Bash chief Alistair Dobson said the league would follow public health advice and put in place health protocols to ensure the safety of the public, players and support staff.

“Scheduling in the time of coronavirus is not without its challenges, as we have seen,” said Dobson.

“There are factors outside the league itself which could impact (the schedule) at a later date.”

Australia A tours and Cricket Australia XI games are on hold because of the coronavirus pandemic but the domestic Sheffield Shield and home international series are planned to go ahead, including a money-spinning four-Test series against India.

A decision is expected soon on whether the Twenty20 World Cup, due to be held in Australia in October and November, will be postponed.

Big Bash League 2020 Squad Details: 

Melbourne Stars: Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson, Hilton Cartwright, Marcus Stoinis, Clint Hinchliffe, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jonathan Merlo, Ben Dunk, Peter Handscomb, Seb Gotch, Lance Morris, Daniel Worrall, Jackson Coleman, Dale Steyn, Pat Brown, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tom O’Connell, Adam Zampa, Haris Rauf.

Sydney Thunders: Callum Ferguson, Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Jason Sangha, Alex Ross, Oliver Davies, Arjun Nair, Chris Green, Nathan McAndrew, Daniel Sams, Chris Morris, Jay Lenton, Matt Gilkes, Gurinder Sandhu, Chris Tremain, Jono Cook, Tanveer Sangha.

Adelaide Strikers: Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Jake Lehmann, Travis Head, Phil Salt, Cameron White, Matt Short, Cameron Valente, Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Alex Carey, Billy Stanlake, Liam O’Connor, Rashid Khan, Wes Agar, Nick Winter, Peter Siddle, Harry Conway.

Hobart Hurricanes: Matthew Wade, Qais Ahmad, Jofra Archer, George Bailey, Scott Boland, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, James Faulkner, Jarrod Freeman, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, David Miller, David Moody, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Aaron Summers.

Sydney Sixers: Sean Abbott, Justin Avendano, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Daniel Fallins, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Peter Nevill, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton, Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon, Steve Smith.

Perth Scorchers: Cameron Bancroft, Nick Hobson, Kurtis Patterson, Joe Root, Aaron Hardie, Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Liam Livingstone, Ashton Turner, Josh Inglis, Sam Whiteman, Jason Behrendorff, Matt Kelly, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Fawad Ahmed.

Brisbane Heat: Joe Burns, Max Bryant, Sam Heazlett, Matt Renshaw, Chris Lynn, AB de Villiers, Ben Curran, James Neesham, Tom Banton, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Mark Steketee, Josh Lalor, James Pattinson, Ben Laughlin, Cameron Gannon, Zahir Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mitchell Swepson.

Melbourne Renegades: Aaron Finch, Tom Cooper, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Shaun Marsh, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Jalat Khan, Beau Webster, Jack Wildermuth, Sam Harper, Zak Evans, Joe Mennie, Mohammad Shahzad, Cameron Boyce, Jon Holland.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here