IPL Winners List All Season Since 2008 With Runner up Details

IPL Trophy - IPL Winners List

Apart from the mainstream cricket tournaments, the Indian Premier League or better known as IPL has become quite popular not just in India but also in many other countries across the world. Every franchise and their captains take pride to be part of the IPL Winners List at least once.

BCCI announced the launch of IPL in the year 2007 and the first season took place in the year 2008. Since the very first season of IPL itself, it has made an impressive space in the hearts of cricket lovers.

The IPL is known as one of the biggest among different domestic leagues that are played across the globe. Different players from different countries come together to join different franchises and play matches.



Here we present the list of IPL winners in the table which includes the winner, runner-up, venue,  player of the match, and player of the series. IPL Winners List – Let’s have look at the table of the IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021.

IPL Winners since 2008

Year Winner Runner Up Venue Number of teams Player of the Match Player of the Series
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 8 Yusuf Pathan Shane Watson
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg 8 Anil Kumble Adam Gilchrist
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai 8 Suresh Raina Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 10 Murali Vijay Chris Gayle
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai 9 Manvinder Bisla Sunil Narine
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 9 Kieron Pollard Shane Watson
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore 8 Manish Pandey Glenn Maxwell
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 8 Rohit Sharma Andre Russell
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore 8 Ben Cutting Virat Kohli
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad 8 Krunal Pandya Ben Stokes
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 8 Shane Watson Sunil Narine
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 8 Jasprit Bumrah Andre Russell
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Dubai 8 Trent Boult Jofra Archer
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai 8 Faf du Plessis Harshal Patel
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad 10 Hardik Pandya Jos Buttler

TBA – To Be Announced.

IPL Winners List – All Season

The IPL Winners List Since 2008 for all seasons. The Inaugural Season was won by Rajasthan Royals. Deccan Chargers Hyderabad – The team that won the 2009 season has changed the franchise owner and its name later as Sunrisers Hyderabad and won in 2016.

Year Winner List
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers Hyderabad
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
2020 Mumbai Indians
2021 Chennai Super Kings
2022 Gujarat Titans
2023 To Be Announced

IPL Runner Up List – All Season

The Runner Up List for all seasons has seen the repeated teams failing to gain the tail. Though Chennai Super Kings have won titles multiple times, they have lost 5 finals to become runner up. RCB has failed 3 times so far to be in IPL Winners List.

Year Runner Up List
2008 Chennai Super Kings
2009 Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Mumbai Indians
2011 Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Chennai Super Kings
2013 Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kings XI Punjab
2015 Chennai Super Kings
2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Rising Pune Supergiants
2018 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019 Chennai Super Kings
2020 Delhi Capitals
2021 Kolkata Knight Riders
2022 Rajasthan Royals
2023 To Be Announced

Player/Man of The Match In IPL Finals History

Each IPL Finals had seen different Man of the Match Winners Since the Start. Interestingly, Anil Kumble From RCB in 2009 is the only player to win the man of the match though the team ended up as a losing side.

Year Player of the Match
2008 Yusuf Pathan
2009 Anil Kumble
2010 Suresh Raina
2011 Murali Vijay
2012 Manvinder Bisla
2013 Kieron Pollard
2014 Manish Pandey
2015 Rohit Sharma
2016 Ben Cutting
2017 Krunal Pandya
2018 Shane Watson
2019 Jasprit Bumrah
2020 Trent Boult
2021 Faf du Plessis
2022 Hardik Pandya
2023 To Be Announced

Player/Man of The Series In IPL History

The player who performed extremely well across the tournament will be awarded as Man of The Series. The list for a man of the series in IPL History is the list as follows.

Year Player of the Series
2008 Shane Watson
2009 Adam Gilchrist
2010 Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chris Gayle
2012 Sunil Narine
2013 Shane Watson
2014 Glenn Maxwell
2015 Andre Russell
2016 Virat Kohli
2017 Ben Stokes
2018 Sunil Narine
2019 Andre Russell
2020 Jofra Archer
2021 Harshal Patel
2022 Jos Buttler
2023 To Be Announced

IPL Winning Captains – All Season

Here are the list of Captains who won IPL titles since start of the Tournament. All Seasons IPL Winning Captain Includes, Rohit Sharma winning 5 times for Mumbai Indians in the Years – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020.

MS Dhoni won 4 times for Chennai Super Kings in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021. Gautam Gambhir – 2 times for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012,2014. Shane Warne, David Warner, Adam Gilchrist won each one time for Rajasthan Royals (2008), Gujarat Titans(2022), Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016), and Deccan Charges (2009) respectively.

Year Winners Winning Team Captain
2023 To Be Announced To Be Announced
2022 Gujarat Titans Hardik Pandya
2021 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni
2020 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2019 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2018 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni
2017 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner
2015 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir
2013 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir
2011 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni
2010 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni
2009 Deccan Chargers Adam Gilchrist
2008 Rajasthan Royals Shane Warne

Who Won Most Titles in IPL History? 

Mumbai Indians (MI) had become IPL Winners for 5 Times, whereas Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were second on the list with 4 IPL Trophies. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Hyderabad Based Franchise had held it 2 times.

Who had been Most Time Runner Up in IPL History?

Though Chennai Super Kings have won titles multiple times, they have lost 5 finals to become runner-up. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) had failed to clinch the title thrice after reaching the finals.

Who won Most Man of The Series In IPL History?

Shane Watson, Andre Russell, and Sunil Narine had won the man of the series awards twice in the history of the IPL Tournament since 2008.

Also read: Indian Premier League: Top 20 Fastest Centuries in IPL Since 2008