CA announced Australia squad for New Zealand Test; Michael Neser Recalled

New Zealand hosts Australia in Tests
Australia to face New Zealand in Test series 2024

The Queensland all-rounder Michael Neser will be featuring on the Australia squad for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand after being recalled.

Australia squad for New Zealand Test

Michael Neser’s inclusion on the squad indicates that Australia will be expecting pitch conditions favorable for Pacers at Wellington and Christchurch for the Two Test matches to be played against New Zealand.

Despite being successful during the West Indies’ Australia tour and Pakistan’s Australia tour, Michae Neser was included in the 14-member squad due to injury concerns.

On the other hand, Lance Morris suffered a side injury during the ODI series against West Indies in Canberra. On the other hand, Jhye Richardson also had a side strain that will sideline be sidelined for six weeks.

Neser and Scott Boland have cleared the medical test after experiencing knee soreness during Marsh’s Sheffield Shield match in Melbourne and will be serving as the backups for Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood.

It indicates that Australia will be starting the series with all-rounders Mitchell Marsh and Cameron Green while Nathan Lyon is the only spinner in the squad.

“We feel like as a collective that (batting) unit will be able to have success over multiple Test matches,” said McDonald.

Michael Neser has played two tests so far where Pat Cummins was sidelined due to COVID-19 in 2021 and injury concerns in 2022. He was a regular member of Australia’s Test squad from 2019 to 2022.

“It’s great to see Michael Neser get another opportunity in the squad following his ever-consistent performances over a long period of time and the conditions we expect,” Bailey said today.

“As we know every Test match provides vital opportunities to obtain valuable WTC points and we expect this tour will be a tough challenge against a very strong side who have been so consistent at home for a long period of time.”

Australia is set to play in the T20 series against West Indies starting on February 09. Australia will be traveling to play in a three-match T20I series and a two-match series starting on February 21.

The first test match will be played between February 29 and March 04 at Basin Reserve, New Zealand.

Australia Test Squad

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (v), Mitchell Starc