The Hundred 2022 Overseas Wildcard Draft; 8 Teams Announced their Overseas Wildcard Draft Picks

The Hundred cricket
The Hundred cricket

Deepti Sharma, Suzie Bates, Mohmmad Hasnain, and Elyse Villani underlined the Overseas Wildcard Draft ahead of the upcoming The Hundred 2022 edition.

The Hundred 2022 Overseas Wildcard Draft

Deepti, who last played for London Spirit, has been drafted in by Birmingham Phoenix for the upcoming edition of The Hundred tournament. Birmingham Phoenix also roped South African spinner, Imran Tahir, for their Men’s team.

Bates and Hasnain, who’s now been cleared to bowl in international cricket again, were roped by Oval Invincibles. Tret Rocket ropes Villani while naming Daniel Sams as their men’s pick.

“For the first time in any cricketing competition, women’s players are being drafted along with the men as The Hundred takes another step towards providing an equal platform for women’s and men’s cricket,” the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said in a release.

The window for the women’s sides to sign players will be open until June 30, by which time the teams will have to complete their squads. The men’s squads will be completed with the domestic Vitality Wildcard draft on July 7.

“It is brilliant news to welcome 16 more international stars to The Hundred. Players from seven countries have been selected and it’s great to welcome the likes of Mohammad Hasnain, Deepti Sharma, and Suzie Bates to The Hundred this year.

This continues to take the quality of cricket to another level and we can’t wait for the second summer of incredible sporting action,” said Sanjay Patel, Managing Director of The Hundred.

The Hundred 2022 Overseas Wildcard Draft Players List

Birmingham PhoenixDeepti Sharma (India)Imran Tahir (South Africa)
London SpiritJess Kerr (New Zealand)Ben McDermott (Australia)
Manchester OriginalsLea Tahuhu (New Zealand)Ashton Turner (Australia)
Northern SuperchargersHeather Graham (Australia)David Wiese (Namibia)
Oval InvinciblesSuzie Bates (New Zealand)Mohmmad Hasnain (Pakistan)
Southern BraveMolly Strano (Australia)Finn Allen (New Zealand)
Trent RocketsElyse Villani (Australia)Daniel Sams (Australia)
Welsh FireNicola Carey (Australia)Noor Ahmad (Afghanistan)