HomeCricketNewsVirat Kohli Named as Captain of ICC Test Team of the Decade

Virat Kohli Named as Captain of ICC Test Team of the Decade

Virat Kohli has been named captain of the men’s ICC Test team of the decade, while Meg Lanning leads the female ODI XI, which includes two other Australians, Alyssa Healy, and the all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

Virat Captains ICC Test team of the decade

Kohli is joined by his teammate Ravichandran Ashwin, while the seam attack is dominated by England, with James Anderson, Stuart Broad, and Ben Stokes all included. Dale Steyn is the sole South African representative while there is no player from either Pakistan or West Indies selected in the male Test squad.

Former England captain Alistair Cook opens the batting with Australia’s David Warner, while New Zealand’s Kane Williamson is in at No 3 and Steve Smith at No 5. Kumar Sangakkara is selected as the side’s wicketkeeper, despite the Sri Lankan retiring from Test cricket in 2015.

ICC Women’s ODI XI

Sarah Taylor, who retired from international cricket in 2019, takes the gloves as the sole England player named in the women’s ODI XI. India’s all-time leading run-scorer Mithali Raj bats at No 3, while the West Indies captain Stafanie Taylor is named at No 5.

Australia’s Meg Lanning is named as captain for the ICC Women’s ODI squad of the decade. Suzie Bates is the only New Zealand player named in the squad.

India’s Jhulan Goswami, the all-time leading women’s international wicket-taker, features in a bowling attack completed by two South Africans, Dane van Niekerk, and Marizanne Kapp, alongside Anisa Mohammed of the West Indies.

As with the top men’s XI, there are no Pakistan or Bangladeshi players in the side.


Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read