HomeCricketNewsPathirana, Theekshana named in Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Pathirana, Theekshana named in Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2024 Squad: Sri Lanka who won the 2014 T20 World Cup by beating India in the final still waits to lift their second title in the tournament.

Ahead of the 2024 edition of the tournament, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced their 15-member squad on May 9, 2024.

Chennai Super Kings(CSK) star bowlers Maheesh Theekshana and Matheesha Pathirana have been included in the squad for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Notably, on May 6, Matheesha Pathirana left the CSK squad and returned to Sri Lanka to treat his hamstring injury while Theekshana remains with his IPL team.

Allrounder Wanindu Hasaranga has been named as the captain of the 15-member squad while Charith Asalanka will serve as his deputy. The team will depart for the World Cup on May 14, 2024.

As the tournament nears, all participating teams started to announce their squad, jerseys, training kits and support staff details for the global event.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

As per the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, Sri Lanka will play their first match of the tournament against South Africa on June 3 in Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York.

Notably, teams can make changes to their 2024 T20 World Cup squad till 25th May.

  1. Wanindu Hasaranga (c)
  2. Charith Asalanka (vc)
  3. Kusal Mendis
  4. Pathum Nissanka
  5. Kamindu Mendis
  6. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  7. Angelo Mathews
  8. Dasun Shanaka
  9. Dhananjaya De Silva
  10. Maheesh Theekshana
  11. Dunith Wellalage
  12. Dushmantha Chameera
  13. Nuwan Thushara
  14. Matheesha Pathirana
  15. Dilshan Madushanka

Travelling Reserve: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage

T20 World Cup 2024 Group

A total of 55 matches will be played between 20 teams during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Notably, only 16 teams were featured in the last edition of the tournament.

In addition to the two hosts, the top 8 teams from the previous tournament automatically qualified, as did the next 2 teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

The remaining 8 teams were decided via a regional qualification process. This is the first time that Canada, Uganda, and the United States have qualified for the T20 World Cup.

Click the team name to check their complete World Cup 2024 squad details.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
India England New Zealand South Africa
Pakistan Australia West Indies Sri Lanka
Ireland Namibia Afghanistan Bangladesh
Canada Scotland Uganda Netherlands
USA Oman Papua New Guinea Nepal

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Format

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Format: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will follow the group stage, Super 8s and knockout stage format.

  • The qualified 20 teams will divided into 4 groups of five teams.
  • The top 2 teams in each group will advance to the Super8 round.
  • The qualified teams will be categorised into 2 groups of four teams where the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stage.
  • In the knockout stage, a total of 2 semifinals and a final game will be played to decide the winner of the tournament.
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read