HomeWorld CupT20I World CupUganda T20 World Cup 2024 Squad; Brian Masaba to lead

Uganda T20 World Cup 2024 Squad; Brian Masaba to lead

Uganda T20 World Cup 2024 Squad: Uganda men’s cricket team becomes the fifty African nation to qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Uganda has qualified for the T20 World Cup for the first time in cricketing history after getting a stunning victory in the final game of the Africa regional qualifiers.

With Ireland being qualified for the World Cup main event next year,  Uganda joined other qualified teams after defeating Rwanda in their final game of the Africa regional qualifier.

Uganda was placed under Group C alongside Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, West Indies, and  Afghanistan.

As per the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, Uganda will play their first match of the tournament against Afghanistan on June 3 in Providence Stadium, Guyana.

As the tournament nears, all participating teams started to announce their squad, jerseys, training kits and support staff details for the global event.

Uganda T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Brian Masaba will lead the Uganda 15-member squad in the 2024 T20 World Cup while Innocent Mwebaze, and Ronald Lutaaya named as the travelling reserves.

Notably, teams can make changes to their 2024 T20 World Cup squad till 25th May.

  1. Brian Masaba (c)
  2. Simon Ssesazi
  3. Roger Mukasa
  4. Cosmas Kyewuta
  5. Dinesh Nakrani
  6. Fred Achelam
  7. Kenneth Waiswa
  8. Alpesh Ramjani
  9. Frank Nsubuga
  10. Henry Ssenyondo
  11. Bilal Hassun
  12. Robinson Obuya
  13. Riazat Ali Shah
  14. Juma Miyaji
  15. Ronak Patel

Travelling Reserves: Innocent Mwebaze, Ronald Lutaaya

T20 World Cup 2024 Group

A total of 55 matches will be played between 20 teams during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Notably, only 16 teams were featured in the last edition of the tournament.

In addition to the two hosts, the top 8 teams from the previous tournament automatically qualified, as did the next 2 teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

The remaining 8 teams were decided via a regional qualification process. This is the first time that Canada, Uganda, and the United States have qualified for the T20 World Cup.

Click the team name to check their complete World Cup 2024 squad details.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
India England New Zealand South Africa
Pakistan Australia West Indies Sri Lanka
Ireland Namibia Afghanistan Bangladesh
Canada Scotland Uganda Netherlands
USA Oman Papua New Guinea Nepal

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Format

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Format: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will follow the group stage, Super 8s and knockout stage format.

  • The qualified 20 teams will divided into 4 groups of five teams.
  • The top 2 teams in each group will advance to the Super8 round.
  • The qualified teams will be categorised into 2 groups of four teams where the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stage.
  • In the knockout stage, a total of 2 semifinals and a final game will be played to decide the winner of the tournament.
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read