HomeCricketIPLSanjay Manjrekar Not Included In List of Commentators For IPL 2020

Sanjay Manjrekar Not Included In List of Commentators For IPL 2020

Sanjay Manjrekar will not be part of the commentary panel at the upcoming Indian Premier League which is to begin on September 19.

Sanjay Manjrekar Name Not in The List:

According to a report in the Mumbai Mirror, The BCCI has finalised a panel of seven Indian commentators for the multi-million dollar league and Manjrekar is not among them.

The seven commentators are Sunil Gavaskar, L Sivaramakrishnan, Murali Kartik, Deep Dasgupta, Rohan Gavaskar, Harsha Bhogle, and Anjum Chopra. Dasgupta and Kartik will be stationed at Abu Dhabi, while the rest will be commentating from Sharjah and Dubai.

Sanjay Manjrekar Not a part of IPL 2020 commentary panel

Dubai and Abu Dhabi will host 21 games each while Sharjah will host 14 matches. The commentators will be further divided into three panels and will be placed in two bubbles at Abu Dhabi and Dubai respectively.

Kartik and Dasgupta were scheduled to fly out today for Abu Dhabi but the local authorities relaxed the quarantine period from 14 to seven days. And as a result, the two will now leave on September 10 with the rest of their colleagues.

Manjrekar Pulls Out Of ICC Commentary Panel:

The former Indian player Sanjay Manjrekar has been dismissed from the commentary panel recently. Sanjay Manjrekar was part of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) commentary panel for many major ICC events ever since he took up the commentary gig post his retirement in 1996.

Sanjay Manjrekar removed from BCCI commentary panel
SanjayManjrekar removed from BCCI commentary panel

While Manjrekar is one of the most experienced commentators in the world, the former Mumbai captain has been involved in quite a few controversies over the years.

Meanwhile, apart from a statement, no particular reason has been released by any official stating as to why Sanjay Manjrekar was dropped. He has covered World Cups and many other ICC tournaments and is a mainstay in the commentary teams covering multi-nation cricket tournaments.

The BCCI is likely to make the full schedule of the tournament public today(04/09/2020). The tournament will go on till November 10 and the matches will be played across three venues in UAE—Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

Also read: Three possible reasons for Sanjay Manjrekar dismissal



Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read