In the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad MS Dhoni makes a controversy move against the on-field umpire. It was the final moment of the match which is a much-needed victory for CSK to survive in this tournament.
Dhoni Umpire Clash
Shardul Thakur bowls the 19th over of the innings. where he loses a two-run of the first delivery followed by a wide off the second delivery again followed by another wide delivery. The second wide delivery gets into the controversy as both bowler and wicketkeeper MS Dhoni makes a shot against the umpire decision.
On-field umpire Paul Reiffel raises his hand to signal the delivery as wide but captain cool makes an angry gesture after which the umpire lowers his hand. Netizens get into the conversation about the umpire’s decision change.
Many criticise MS Dhoni as they believe that Dhoni’s rage makes the umpire to change his decision. While some believe that MS Dhoni did that correct by stopping the umpire from giving the wide decision. Because once the umpire gave a decision he has no authority to call back the decision apart from appealing for wickets.
— Ƨ.K.ƧΉΛЯMΛ 🇮🇳 G̷̨̫̦̙̹͓͈̝̺̫̀͐̓̒̇͗̒͘ŏ̴̡̥̳͎̲̗̺̖͋ (@Suneel_IND) October 13, 2020
Opposition captain David Warner was seen gesturing angrily from the dugout as Reiffel seemed to have a change of mind.
Umpire’s decision rule
According to the IPL playing conditions in the category of the umpire’s decision, it states, “An umpire may alter any decision provided that such alteration is made promptly. This apart, an umpire’s decision, once made, is final.”
If one looks at the replay, umpire Reiffel did NOT actually signal a wide and then change his decision. MS Dhoni protested just about at the right time and ensured that umpire Reiffel did not signal the wide and instead, left it half-way.
The controversial decision might not have played a big part in the outcome of the match. With the win, CSK goes to the sixth spot in the points table.
SRH has suffered another loss and it puts them in danger of not qualifying for the knockouts.