HomeCricketThe HundredThe Hundred Cricket Rules | 14 Brand-New Rules To Know

The Hundred Cricket Rules | 14 Brand-New Rules To Know

The Hundred Cricket Rules: 100-ball cricket is a short form of cricket introduced by the England cricket board to attract new audiences to the game with simplified rules under the name of “The Hundred”.

It will feature world-class players and massive names from around the world. Eight brand new city-based women’s and men’s teams will compete over five weeks every summer.

A men’s squad and women’s squad will be formed for each team, with the competitions running alongside each other.

The Hundred Cricket Rules

The Hundred cricket rules are a bit different from the regular limited over cricket rules. England introduced the game with simple rules but new to the cricket era. Many cricket experts feel that this would bring a storm in the cricket world due to its simplified rules version.

Following are the set of rules that will be followed in the inaugural edition of the Hundred cricket tournament.

  1. It’s 100 balls per innings.
  2. Whoever scores the most runs wins.
  3. The fielding side change ends after 10 balls.
  4. Bowlers deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls which will be decided by the captain.
  5. Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per match.
  6. Each bowling side gets a strategic timeout of up to two minutes.
  7. The coach can walk out to the middle of the ground and discuss tactics with their players mid-match.
  8. A 25-ball powerplay for each team.
  9. Two fielders are allowed outside of the initial 30-yard circle during the powerplay.
  10. A match of The Hundred will last two and a half hours.
  11. Teams will be able to call time-outs, as has been the case in the IPL since 2009
  12. The non-striker must return to their original end after a caught dismissal
  13. No-balls are worth two runs and a free hit
  14. At least one England Test player will have to be signed by each of the eight men’s teams.

Also read: The Hundred Fixtures 2022 For Men and Women With Full Squad

The Hundred Cricket Teams

The Hundred tournament consists of 8 teams in total which were named after the cities in England. Notably, both Men’s and Women’s teams come under the same team name.

Ex: Men’s team is named Birmingham Phoenix Men’s while the Women’s team has named Birmingham Phoenix Women’s. The teams are as follows.

  1. Birmingham Phoenix
  2. Manchester Originals
  3. London Spirit
  4. Oval Invincibles
  5. Northern Superchargers
  6. Trent Rockets
  7. Southern Brave
  8. Welsh Fire

Also read: What is The Hundred Draft in Cricket? New Process Explained

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read