HomeCricketNewsWest Indies Recall Bravo and Hetmyer for New Zealand Tour

West Indies Recall Bravo and Hetmyer for New Zealand Tour

Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer were named Friday in the West Indies team for a proposed two-Test series in New Zealand, having turned down solicitations for the tour through England earlier this year.

The top-order batsmen both quit the Test series against England in July that denoted the arrival of worldwide cricket following the Covid closure.

Bravo and Hetmyer have been reviewed alongside quick bowling all-rounder Keemo Paul, who additionally skirted the England tour, as a feature of a 15-man crew upheld up by six reserve players.

West Indies Tour of New Zealand

Hetmyer and Paul were included in the T20 crew for a three-coordinate series that goes before the two Tests.

West Indies are due to play the first Test in Hamilton from December 3-7. The second is scheduled for Wellington from December 11-15.

Both series are subject to clearance from the two teams’ cricket boards and the New Zealand government.

Darren and Hetmyer may return

“The return of Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and Keemo Paul will bolster the team,” said West Indies chief selector Roger Harper.

“I expect that Darren will solidify the top-order, hopefully making it more productive, while Shimron gives the squad more options in the middle-order and it is another opportunity for him to show how good a player he is.

“Keemo provides another wicket-taking seam option.”

Darren Hetmyer
Darren and Hetmyer

All-rounder Andre Russell and top-order batsmen Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis have chosen not to participate in the tour.

Shai Hope was omitted from the Test squad following a sustained poor run of form. He scored just 105 runs in six innings in three Tests against England.

“Shai is a player who I think has a tremendous future in Test cricket but at the moment he needs to reorganize his Test match game and get his batting in the longest version, back to its best,” said Harper.

Test squad:

Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach


Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales

T20 squad:

Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

Also read: Sachin Tendulkar Claims West Indies Skipper Jason Holder as the Most Underrated All-Rounder

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read