HomeCricketNewsAakash Chopra Questions ICC on Picking Dhoni in T20I Team of the...

Aakash Chopra Questions ICC on Picking Dhoni in T20I Team of the Decade

Former India cricketer, Aakash Chopra has questioned the criteria with which MS Dhoni has been selected in ICC’s T20I team of the Decade and also being made the captain of the same.

Aakash Chopra Questions ICC on Selecting Dhoni as T20I Captain

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday (December 27) announced the T20I team for the decade. Former India captain, MS Dhoni was elected as the captain and wicket-keeper of the team by ICC.

Dhoni captains the ICC Men's T20I team of the decade
Dhoni captains the ICC Men’s T20I team of the decade

Chopra is a bit surprised by MS Dhoni being selected in the dual role of keeper and captain for the T20I team for the last 10 years.

He points out that neither Dhoni has led India to any T20 World Cup title in the gone by decade nor Dhoni as a batsman has done anything extraordinary. Chopra claims that somebody like Jos Buttler could have made a better option instead of Dhoni.

In his Facebook video, Aakash Chopra said, “I am slightly intrigued because if you talk about T20Is in this decade, neither has India won anything nor has Dhoni done that well in T20Is. We are making a T20I team and it does not have players like Jos Buttler etc.”

Chopra slams ICC for not including Babar Azam

Babar Azam
Babar Azam

The former India opener also reckoned that the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Decade does not make enough sense as it does not feature premier Pakistan batsman Babar Azam – who has dominated the ICC rankings.

“My major bone of contention is that it seems they have not made the T20I team at all. They are making the team of the decade and it is not only about the Pakistani thing why none of their players are there but it just doesn’t make sense,” Chopra added.

Not just Chopra, former Pakistan cricketers like Rashid Latif and Shoaib Akhtar also questioned ICC for not picking any cricketer. Social media users have also reacted after ICC did not have any Pakistani cricketer in any of the lists.

Indian cricketers like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah dominated the list.

Also read: ICC Awards of the Decade-Full List of Winners and Nominees

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read