HomeCricketIPLIPL 2022 Likely to Kick Start on April 2 in Chennai

IPL 2022 Likely to Kick Start on April 2 in Chennai

IPL 2022 Start Date: BCCI plans to stage the first match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on April 2, 2022. The fixtures have not been finalised but the BCCI has internally conveyed to the key stakeholders that April 2, in all probability, is the date and Chennai, in all certainty, will be the venue.

IPL 2022 Kickstarts on April 2

As Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions, Chepauk will be the obvious choice for the inaugural game but there is no formal decision if their opponents will, again, be Mumbai Indians, which has been the case mostly.

That the IPL will be returning to India fully was announced by BCCI secretary Jay Shah during his recent speech in Chennai, where CSK celebrated their fourth IPL win.

“I know you all are waiting to see the CSK play at Chepauk. Well, the moment is not very far. The 15th season of the IPL will take place in India and it will be more exciting than ever with two new teams joining. We have a mega auction coming up, so it will be interesting to see what the new combinations look like,” the BCCI secretary had said at the function. The full season of 2020 and a half-season of 2021 were staged in UAE.

The 15th edition, will have 10 teams and 74 games in total and the BCCI has discussed internally that the length of the season will be for over 60 days. The final, thus, could be in the first weekend of June, that is either on June 4 or 5.

2 New IPL Teams Owner

CVC Capital is the owner of Ahmedabad while RP Sanjiv Goenka Group will own the Lucknow-based IPL team in the IPL 2022 tournament.

  • The exact winning bid for the new two IPL teams are:
    • RP – Sanjiv Goenka Group – 7090cr(over 932 million USD) for Lucknow team
    • CVC Capital – 5625(over 692 million USD) for the Ahmedabad team.
Team Owner Price
Lucknow RPSG Group of Sanjiv Goenka
7090 crore (over 932 million USD)
Ahmedabad CVC Capital
5625 crores crore (over 692 million USD)


As expected Ahmedabad will have Narendra Modi Stadium as their home ground which has a seating capacity of 1,12,650 along with hospitality for around 6000 persons.

While Lucknow will have Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium as their home ground which has a seating capacity of around 48,000 with a hospitality facility for around 1000 persons.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read