HomeWorld CupT20I World CupT20 World Cup 2021: India and Pakistan Placed Under Same Group

T20 World Cup 2021: India and Pakistan Placed Under Same Group

India and Pakistan have been placed in Group 2 of the upcoming T20 World Cup, which also comprises New Zealand, Afghanistan, and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

India and Pakistan Placed in the Same Group

Defending champions West Indies are a part of Group one with former champions England, Australia, South Africa, and two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them. Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, and New Zealand, and the other two qualifiers from Round 1 are in the Group two.

Round 1 (Qualifying stage)

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s (Final round)

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B

Group 2: India, Pakistan New Zealand, Afghanistan, Winner Group B, Runner-up Group A

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah

Regarding this BCCI Secretary Jay Shah says “With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kickstarts. There is nothing that separates the two groups as both are packed with sides that are highly competitive in the shortest format of the game. Having said that, the exciting T20 format is known for its surprises, and we must be prepared for the same. I am sure we will witness some exciting and nail-biting games

“I am particularly delighted to be in Oman. As a major force in world cricket, the BCCI has always endeavored to promote and assist Associate Nations. In my capacity as Asian Cricket Council President, my vision is to take cricket far and deep into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the global stage. They are also playing the Qualifiers and it will be an icing on the cake if they make it to the Super 12s.”

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly says “It is good to get Oman in the frame of world cricket with the hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It will help a lot of young players take an interest in the game. We know it will be a world-class event in this part of the world.”

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice 

“We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great matchups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer.”

The matches in the first round will be split between two groups.

Group A has Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia.

Group B comprises Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12s, which will be played at three venues – Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

Also read: T20 World Cup 2021 Set to Begin on October 17 in UAE

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read