BCCI Announces India squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023

India Cricket team
India Cricket team(Image: BCCI)

India squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: BCCI announces the much-awaited squad for the World Cup 2023 scheduled to play from October 5 with the final game on November 19.

India squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023

India squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: As per the World Cup 2023 schedule, two-time World Cup winning team India will play their first game against Australia on October 8 at Chidambaram, Chennai.

As of the previous edition, the 2023 edition will also follow the same format where each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage where a total of 45 group matches will be played. The top 4 teams of the ICC ODI World Cup points table will enter the knockout stage to play semifinal 1 and semifinal 2.

Under ICC regulations all teams are given a deadline of September 28 to announce their World Cup 2023 squad.

Rohit Sharma has been named as the captain of the India squad for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 while Hardik was named as his deputy. India includes 3 all-rounders in their squad – Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Azar Patel.

Check out the full India squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 below:

Player Role
Rohit Sharma(c) Batsman
Shubman Gill Batsman
Virat Kohli Batsman
Shreyas Iyer Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav Batsman
Ishan Kishan(wk) WK-Batsman
KL Rahul(wk) WK-Batsman
Hardik Pandya(vc) Allrounder
Ravindra Jadeja Allrounder
Axar Patel Allrounder
Shardul Thakur Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah Bowler
Mohammad Shami Bowler
Mohammad Siraj Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Format

  • Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.
  • A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each.
  • The top four teams of the World Cup 2023 Points Table will qualify for the semi-finals.
  • The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The team’s captain plays a crucial role in winning a cricket match; winning an ICC trophy requires a huge role from the team’s captain.

Find the detailed list of cricket World Cup-winning captains list since 1975 below:

Year Winner Captain
2019 England Eoin Morgan
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2011 India MS Dhoni
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1987 Australia Allan Border
1983 India Kapil Dev
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd


More interesting topics on ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: