HomeWorld CupODIICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023 Anthem - WATCH

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Anthem – WATCH

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Anthem: As of every other ICC event, the board released an anthem song for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 on September 20. The ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is scheduled to be played in India from October 5 with the final game on November 19.

It will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India; three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011.

As per the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Schedule, the first match will be played between England and New Zealand on October 5 in Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Anthem

As of the previous edition, the 2023 edition will also follow the same format where each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage where a total of 45 group matches will be played. The top 4 teams of the ICC ODI World Cup points table will enter the knockout stage to play semifinal 1 and semifinal 2.

Under ICC regulations all teams are given a deadline of September 28 to announce their World Cup 2023 squad. Ranveer Singh will be the leading character in the ICC anthem for the 2023 World Cup.

Shloke Lal, and Saaveri Verma wrote the lyrics while Pritam, Nakash Aziz, Sreerama Chandra, Amit Mishra, Jonita Gandhi,  AKASA, and Charan sang the song. Check out the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Anthem below:

At the anthem launch, Ranveer Singh expressed his gratitude for having the privilege of delivering the song to the cricket world.

“Being part of this anthem launch for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is truly an honour. It’s a celebration of the sport we all love.”

Pritam shared the sentiments of his colleague, highlighting the urge to bring fans across the world a piece of India and its cricket through song.

“Cricket is India’s greatest passion and composing ‘Dil Jashn Bole’ for the biggest World Cup ever, has been a tremendous honour for me. This song is not just for 1.4 billion Indian fans but for the whole world to come to India and be a part of the biggest celebration ever.”

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Format

  • Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.
  • A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each.
  • The top four teams of the World Cup 2023 Points Table will qualify for the semi-finals.
  • The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The team’s captain plays a crucial role in winning a cricket match; winning an ICC trophy requires a huge role from the team’s captain.

Find the detailed list of cricket World Cup-winning captains since 1975 below:

Year Winner Captain
2019 England Eoin Morgan
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2011 India MS Dhoni
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1987 Australia Allan Border
1983 India Kapil Dev
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd


More interesting topics on ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: 

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read