HomeCricketThe HundredThe Hundred Cricket: Birmingham Phoenix Ropes Shafali Verma

The Hundred Cricket: Birmingham Phoenix Ropes Shafali Verma

India women team’s teen opener Shafali Verma is all set to feature in inaugural The Hundred cricket tournament in the UK as she will replace New Zealand’s Sophie Devine. The world’s best T20 batswoman will feature in the competition for Birmingham Phoenix and will be the fifth Indian to feature in the competition.

Shafali Verma get part in The Hundred cricket

Shafali will reunite with her Sydney Sixers coach Ben Sawyer, and her stint in England promises to be a significant learning curve for her. Speaking to ANI, a source close to the development said:

“It is a delightful news not just for Shafali but for Indian women’s cricket that there will be five Indian players in the inaugural edition of The Hundred. She will re-unite with her Sydney Sixers coach Ben Sawyer and the experience should help her grow further in what has already been a very positive road forward for the youngster,” 

Opener Smriti Mandhana, T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, and all-rounder Deepti Sharma are the four other Indian women cricketers selected for the Hundred cricket tournament.

The Hundred Cricket Schedule

Date Match Venue
21-Jul Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (women’s), Kia Oval
22-Jul Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (men’s), Kia Oval Kia Oval
23-Jul Birmingham Phoenix v London Spirit, Edgbaston
24-Jul Trent Rockets v Southern Brave, Trent Bridge
Northern Superchargers v Welsh Fire, Emerald Headingley
25-Jul London Spirit v Oval Invincibles Lord’s
Manchester Originals v Birmingham Phoenix Emirates Old Trafford
26-Jul Trent Rockets v Northern Superchargers Trent Bridge
27-Jul Welsh Fire v Southern Brave Sophia Gardens
28-Jul Manchester Originals v Northern Superchargers Emirates Old Trafford
29-Jul London Spirit v Trent Rockets Lord’s
30-Jul Southern Brave v Birmingham Phoenix Ageas Bowl
31-Jul Welsh Fire v Manchester Originals Sophia Gardens
Northern Superchargers v Oval Invincibles Emerald Headingley
01-Aug Birmingham Phoenix v Trent Rockets Edgbaston
London Spirit v Southern Brave Lord’s
02-Aug Oval Invincibles v Welsh Fire Kia Oval
03-Aug London Spirit v Northern Supercharger Lord’s
04-Aug Birmingham Phoenix v Oval Invincibles Edgbaston
05-Aug Manchester Originals v Southern Brave Emirates Old Trafford
06-Aug Welsh Fire v Trent Rockets Sophia Gardens
07-Aug Southern Brave v Northern Superchargers Ageas Bowl
08-Aug Oval Invincibles v Trent Rockets Kia Oval
09-Aug Birmingham Phoenix v Welsh Fire Edgbaston
10-Aug Manchester Originals v London Spirit Emirates Old Trafford
11-Aug Southern Brave v Welsh Fire Ageas Bowl
12-Aug Northern Superchargers v Manchester Originals Emerald Headingley
13-Aug Trent Rockets v Birmingham Phoenix Trent Bridge
14-Aug Oval Invincibles v London Spirit Kia Oval
15-Aug Trent Rockets v Manchester Originals Trent Bridge
16-Aug Southern Brave v Oval Invincibles Ageas Bowl
17-Aug Northern Superchargers v Birmingham Phoenix Emerald Headingley
18-Aug Welsh Fire v London Spirit Sophia Gardens
20-Aug Eliminator (both women’s and men’s) Kia Oval
21-Aug Finals (both women’s and men’s) Lord’s


Also read: “The Hundred” Full Tournament Squad details

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read