Jack Leach ruled out of Ashes 2023 owing to Stress Fracture

Jack Leach Ruled out of Ashes 2023

England bowler Jack Leach has been ruled out of the upcoming Ashes 2023 tournament owing to a lower back (lumbar) stress fracture.

Jack Leach ruled out of Ashes 2023

Jack Leach ruled out of Ashes 2023: The Ashes 2023 is scheduled to play between June 16 to July 31 in five different venues across England. Australia are the holders of the Ashes going into the series, having won the last series 4–0. The series will form part of the 2023–2025 World Test Championship.

The five venues will be Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford and The Oval. We have explained the Men’s Ashes 2023 Venues with Stats for the fans to have an overview of the runs scored in different venues.

An official announcement from ICC reads “England’s lead spinner Jack Leach has been ruled out of the Ashes series with a lower back (lumbar) stress fracture. The left-arm spinner developed symptoms during the one-off Test against Ireland at Lord’s earlier this week with scans confirming a stress fracture”.

“England will announce a replacement for the spinner for the crucial Ashes series which kicks off the next ICC World Test Championship cycle”.

Leach’s absence is a blow to England’s strategy, with the left-arm spinner having been a key part of the bowling attack under Ben Stokes’ captaincy. Since Stokes took charge ahead of the 2022 English Summer, no player has bowled more for England in Test cricket than Leach.

Leach’s absence will leave England with a selection dilemma, with no obvious spin replacement available.

The first match of the Ashes 2023 will be played on June 16 at Edgbaston, Birmingham. SonyLIV will live stream the Ashes 2023 season in India while Sky Sports will live stream the game in the UK. CHECK: Men’s Ashes 2023 Live Streaming For All Locations

England Ashes Squad

Ben Stokes (c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Joe Root, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Ben Duckett, Zak Crawley, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Dan Lawrence, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Josh Tongue.

CHECK: Men’s Ashes 2023 Tickets With Booking Link