HomeCricketSA20 LeagueSA20 League: Joburg Super Kings Squad and Team Players List

SA20 League: Joburg Super Kings Squad and Team Players List

Joburg Super Kings Squad 2023: Chennai Super Kings Sports Limited, the owners of Chennai Super Kings in the IPL has named their franchise name as Joburg Super Kings in the SA20 T20 League.

As per the league’s rules, each of the six franchises will get to pre-sign five players – three overseas, one South African international player, and one uncapped South African player – prior to the auction. Also, the maximum permissible limit of players in each of the team squads is 17 players each.

Joburg Super Kings Squad

The Joburg Super Kings has chosen former CSK player Faf Du Plessis as one of their five direct signings for USD 375,000.

Faf du Plessis
Faf du Plessis
S. No. Player Name Nationality
1 Faf du Plessis South Africa
2 Gerald Coetzee South Africa
3 Maheesh Theekshana Sri Lanka
4 Romario Shepherd West Indies
5 Reeza Hendricks South Africa
6 Harry Brook England
7 Janneman Malan South Africa
8 Kyle Verreyne South Africa
9 George Garton England
10 Alzarri Joseph West Indies
11 Leus du Plooy South Africa
12 Lewis Gregory England
13 Lizaad Williams South Africa
14 Nandre Burger South Africa
15 Donavon Ferreira South Africa
16 Malusi Siboto South Africa
17 Neil Brand South Africa
18 Aaron Phangiso South Africa
19 Matthew Wade Australia

READ: SA20 League Marquee Players List Along With Top Players Salary

The franchise also signs their current CSK players Moeen Ali and Maheesh Theekshana for USD 400,000 and USD 200,000 respectively.

West Indies allrounder Romario Shepherd and South African fast bowler Gerald Coetzee have also been signed by the team for USD 175,000 and USD 50,000 respectively ahead of the inaugural edition of the SA20 League.

Joburg Super Kings Auction Purchased Players List

The players Joburg Super Kings purchased through SA20 League Auction 2023.

S. No. Player Name Nationality
Price (South African Rand)
1 Harry Brook England R2.10 Million
2 Janneman Malan South Africa R2.70 Million
3 Reeza Hendricks South Africa R4.50 Million
4 Kyle Verreyne South Africa R175,000
5 George Garton England R425,000
6 Alzarri Joseph West Indies R2.10 Million
7 Leus du Plooy South Africa R1.50 Million
8 Lewis Gregory England R850,000
9 Lizaad Williams South Africa R325,000
10 Nandre Burger South Africa R175,000
11 Donavon Ferreira South Africa R5.50 Million
12 Malusi Siboto South Africa R175,000
13 Neil Brand South Africa R175,000

Joburg Super Kings Wild Card Players:

Joburg Super Kings had picked Aaron Phangiso for the upcoming SA20 League 2023.

“Players will come in at a minimum base fee of R175 000, with Franchises using their discretion to select the calibre of players to bolster their squads, which will move from a playing personnel of 17 to 18. Players who were not registered for the auction are eligible for selection.” according to a press release.

“The wild card offers our teams an opportunity to add another world-class player to their squad,” league commissioner Graeme Smith said.

S. No. Wild Card Player Nationality
1 Aaron Phangiso South Africa

Joburg Super Kings Coach/Supporting Staffs:

The Johannesburg-based franchise is appointed former New Zealand skipper and current CSK head coach Stephen Fleming as their head coach of the team. The JSK Team had retained most of their coaching staffs from the CSK franchise, apart from Albie Morkel as Assitant Coach. It’s well known that Morkel too once associated with the parent franchise as a player.

Stephen Fleming
Stephen Fleming
Role Player
Head Coach Stephen Fleming
Assistant Coach Albie Morkel
Assistant Coach
Eric Simons
Russell Radhakrishnan
Tommy Simsek
Gregory King
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read