Rinku Singh’s match-winning Six not counted by ICC- Check reason

Rinku SIngh
Rinku Singh (image: BCCI)

During the first T20I match between Australia and India, the Indian player Rinku Singh’s match-winning six was not counted for ICC stats for the player due to the third Umpire’s decision.

Rinku Singh’s match-winning Six not counted

India played their first T20I match of the Australia tour of India on November 23, 2023, where men in blues won the match by 2 wickets. After the heartbreaking defeat in the finals of the World Cup 2023, India’s thrilling victory in the short-format game created excitement among the team.

During the last moments of the match, Rinku Singh struck a match-winning six in the match where India required one run to win. However, it was said that it was not counted due to the no-ball by Sean Abbot. On this occasion, the ICC gives an explanation for the omission of the six in the match.

Batting first, Australia smashed an impressive score of 208 runs in 20 overs losing only 3 wickets. Josh Inglis’s 110 runs on 50 deliveries helped the side to set up a huge score against India.

Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar had an impressive inning as both scored half-centuries in the match. The Duo led the side to the path of victory. After the dismissal of Duo, India struggled a lot as they lost wickets continuously. India required 7 runs after an impressive over from Nathan Ellis who only conceded 6 overs.

On the final over, Rinku Singh smashed a four on the first ball of the over from Sean Abbott reducing the required runs to 3 on 5 deliveries. He failed to connect the second ball on the over but managed to pull a run after Matthew Wade failed to stop the ball behind the stumps.

Axar Patel swung his bat on a full-length delivery but couldn’t connect properly, where Abbott took a simple catch.  Ravi Bishnoi came to bat where he missed a shot, but Rinku Singh started running as the ball was on the loose, but Ravi was run out on the other side.

When Rinku Singh regained strike, he delivered an impressive delivery on a slower ball towards deep midwicket. On the attempt for the second run, Arshdeep Singh fell short of his ground at the bowler’s end and India lost its third wicket in a single over.

Rinku kept the strike for himself and got ready for his final shot as one run is required to win the match. But he dispatched the ball for a long run but the ball crossed the boundary line. Later, the third umpire revealed that Abbott overstepped and it was declared as no ball.

Even before reaching the six-line, India gained a run to ensure victory, but not adding the six in the score would affect the players’ personal strike rate.

According to ICC Men’s T20I Playing Conditions 16.5.1: “As soon as a result is reached as defined in clauses 16.1, 16.2 or 16.3.1, the match is at an end. Nothing that happens thereafter, except as in clause 41.17.2 (Penalty runs), shall be regarded as part of it.”

“If a boundary is scored before the batters have completed sufficient runs to win the match, the whole of the boundary allowance shall be credited to the side’s total and, in the case of a hit by the bat, to the striker’s score.”

If the six was counted, Rinku Singh would have 28* runs on 14 balls, but with the umpire’s decision, it was calculated for 22* runs on 14 balls.

India’s 209 run chase is their highest in T20I history, which broke the previous record of chasing 208 runs against West Indies in 2019. India had its fifth successful chase which is the highest in the list. South Africa has four 200+ successful chase while Pakistan and Australia has 3 successful chases.

India and Australia will be playing the second T20I match on November 26 at Greenfield Stadium.