HomeCricketNewsICC Women's Cricket World Cup Winners List Since 1973

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List Since 1973

Times of Sports(TOS) listed the women’s cricket world cup winners list for both ODI and T20I format along with runners list.

The International Women’s Cricket World cup tournament is similar to the Men’s world cup. It started with the 60 overs One Day Matches tournament and then with time T20 Women’s world cup was also introduced.

There are a total of 10 teams that participate in the various Women’s ICC tournaments. These include Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.

Australia is the country with the maximum number of World Cup Title for both Men and Women’s tournaments

  • Current champion: Australia (2023)
  • Most successful Team: Australia (6 titles)
  • Indian Team Titles: 0
  • Most runs: Suzie Bates (1066), New Zealand
  • Most wickets: Shabnim Ismail (43), South Africa

List of women's world cup winners

List of Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC conducts cricket world cup tournaments for women’s cricket teams since 1973. England bags the inaugural edition of the ICC women’s World Cup while Australia ended up as runner-up of the year’s tournament.

Check out the full list of ICC Women’s ODI WC winners since 1973:

Year Winner Runners Up Host Finals Venue
1973 England Australia England Edgbaston
1978 Australia England India Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
1982 Australia England New Zealand Lancaster Park, Christchurch
1988 Australia England Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
1993 England New Zealand England London
1997 Australia New Zealand India Eden Gardens, Kolkata
2000 New Zealand Australia New Zealand Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln
2005 Australia India South Africa SuperSport Park, Centurion
2009 England New Zealand Australia North Sydney Oval‎, ‎Sydney
2013 Australia West Indies India Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
2017 England India England Lord’s, London
2022 Australia England New Zealand Christchurch

Women’s Cricket World Cup Winning Captain

England won the inaugural edition of the ICC women’s cricket World Cup under Rachael Heyhoe Flint’s captaincy. Following are the details of the ICC women’s Cricket World Cup-winning captains:

Year Team Captain
1973 England Rachael Heyhoe Flint
1978 Australia Margaret Jennings
1982 Australia Sharon Tredrea
1988 Australia Lyn Larsen
1993 England Karen Smithies
1997 Australia Belinda Clark
2000 New Zealand Emily Drumm
2005 Australia Belinda Clark
2009 England Charlotte Edwards
2013 Australia Jodie Fields
2017 England Heather Knight
2022 Australia Meg Lanning

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners 

Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, which has become one of the most-watched women’s sporting events in history as the sport continues to set new benchmarks on and off the field.

India has also hosted the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2016 and this tournament was won by the West Indies by defeating Australia.

Team Title Won
Australia 6
England 1
West Indies 1


Given below is the list of ICC Women’s World Cup Winners List for the T20 tournaments conducted till date.

Year Winner Runner-up Host Venue
2009 England New Zealand England London
2010 Australia New Zealand West Indies Bridgetown
2012 Australia England Sri Lanka Colombo
2014 Australia England Bangladesh Dhaka
2016 West Indies Australia India Kolkata
2018 Australia England West Indies North Sound
2020 Australia India Australia Melbourne
2023 Australia South Africa South Africa Cape Town

Women’s T20 World Cup Winning Captain

England won the inaugural edition T20 world cup under Charlotte Edwards’s captaincy. Australia then dominates the winner’s table and bags 5 trophies as of now(2021). Following are the details of the Women’s T20 World Cup winners list:

Year Team Captain
2009 England Charlotte Edwards
2010 Australia Alex Blackwell
2012 Australia Jodie Fields
2014 Australia Meg Lanning
2016 West Indies Stafanie Taylor
2018 Australia Meg Lanning
2020 Australia Meg Lanning
2023 Australia Meg Lanning

Also read: ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Winners List in ODI and T20I

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read