Williamson, Boult, Southee, Conway Named in New Zealand Squad for West Indies Tour

New Zealand ODI Cricket team
New Zealand ODI Cricket team(Image: NZC)

New Zealand Cricket Board confirmed that Kane Williamson will lead New Zealand’s 15-man squad for their tour of the West Indies to play three T20Is and as many ODIs.

New Zealand Squad for West Indies Tour

Along with Kane Williamson, NZC also named Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Devon Conway in the squad for the West Indies tour. The tour will begin on August 10 with the 1st T20I match in Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

All T20I matches will be played in Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica while the ODI series will be played in Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said the squad was looking forward to taking on the West Indies at home.

“It’s always exciting to be heading somewhere you’ve not been in a while and I know this group can’t wait for the challenge of taking on the West Indies in the Caribbean,” head coach Gary Stead said.

“Managing workloads is hugely important this year with the team playing some form of cricket every month in 2022 – and this applies to both players and staff.

Notably, this will be NZ’s first tour to the Caribbean since 2014. The T20 series between the two teams will serve as vital preparation for the T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to play later this year.

“For Kane, Trent, Tim, and Devon, this will be the first time they have played white ball cricket for New Zealand since last year’s T20 World Cup and tour to India – so this trip will be important for them.

“We also have players such as Michael and Finn who are relatively new to the international stage but have really put their hands up for selection when given opportunities. “As a selector, it’s been great to see these guys push their cases.”

T20I and ODI squad

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Fin Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.