HomeCricketNewsJaydev Unadkat Set to lead Saurashtra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

Jaydev Unadkat Set to lead Saurashtra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

Seasoned speedster Jaydev Unadkat confirmed to lead the Saurashtra team in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy National 2021. The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 is scheduled to play from January 10, 2021. Saurashtra are the reigning Ranji Trophy champions.

Jaydev Unadkat leads Saurashtra at Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) on Friday announced the squad through a media release after its senior selection committee held an online meeting.

All the regulars — Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, left-handed batsman Arpit Vasavada, wicket-keeper-batsman Harvik Desai — have been named in the squad.

The bowling attack, to be led by Unadkat, also has left-arm pacer Chetan Sakariya and slow-left arm orthodox bowler Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

The tournament begins from January 10. Saurashtra is placed in Elite Group D along with Services, Vidarbha, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan. The league matches will be played at Indore.

Saurashtra Squad

Jaydev Unadkat (Captain), Chirag Jani, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Avi Barot, Harvik Desai, Arpit Vasavada, Samarth Vyas, Vishwarajsinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Prerak Mankad, Divyarajsinh Chauhan, Vandit Jivrajani, Parth Bhut, Agnivesh Ayachi, Kunal Karamchandani, Yuvraj Chudasama, Himalay Barad, Kushang Patel, Parth Chauhan, and Devang Karamta.

Murali Vijay Pulls out Tamilnadu team

The former India opener Murali Vijay pulls out of the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and will miss the entire domestic season.

“He informed us that he would be skipping the upcoming season for personal reasons. He did not mention anything further,” a TNCA official told.

Vijay last played for Tamil Nadu during their Ranji Trophy clash against Karnataka at Dindigul in 2019. Murali had featured in three matches for the Chennai Super Kings during the IPL-13.

Vijay was earlier named in the state probables for the domestic T20 competition. TNCA has included opener L Suryapprakash in place of Vijay.

“It is a very big blow for us ahead of the season because he is an experienced campaigner and brings solidity at the top.

But his absence gives other players an opportunity to make an impact for the stateside,” said the official.

Also read: Will MS Dhoni Play the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 for Jharkhand?



Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read