Uganda qualify for 2024 T20 World Cup; Fifth African nation to feature in ICC tournament

Uganda Cricket team
Uganda Cricket team (image: UCA)

With the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled to start on June 03, the African country Uganda has qualified for the main event.

Uganda qualify for 2024 T20 World Cup

Uganda has qualified for the T20 World Cup for the first time in cricketing history after getting a stunning victory in the final game of the Africa regional qualifiers. With Ireland being qualified for the World Cup main event next year,  Uganda joined other qualified teams after defeating Rwanda in their final game of the Africa regional qualifier.

In the process, they defeated Zimbabwe for qualifying to the main event next year. During the regional qualifier, Namibia became the first team to clinch one of the two available spots for qualification to the World Cup T20.

While playing in the final rounds on November 30, Uganda faced Rwanda without a defeat. For Zimbabwe to top the table and qualify they have to defeat Kenya and Rwanda to win the match against Uganda. But during the match, Rwanda lost a wicket in the first over of the innings, and could not stand against the intense bowling of the Uganda bowlers.

All the batters were sent out at regular intervals in the match with single or double-digit scores. The team was all out for 65 runs on the 19th over. Alpesh, Dinesh, Henry, and Brian had dismissed two wickets each.

With a target of 66 runs, Uganda started their innings. Ronak Patel was sent out with 18 runs. Simon and Roger finished the innings on the first ball of the 9th over. Uganda won the match by 9 wickets.

Zimbabwe tried all they could with their captain Sikandar Raza who promoted himself up in the order and smashed eight sixes as he scored 82 runs in 48 balls. Zimbabwe ended their match with 217 runs on board but they lost to Uganda.

Zimbabwe opened their T20 World Cup qualifiers campaign in the ongoing T20 World Cup qualifiers. Their coach Dave Houghton called an embarrassingly bad performance against Namibia, where they lost by seven wickets.

Zimbabwe lost their third game to Uganda by five wickets. The teams for T20 World Cup are confirmed with West Indies and USA qualifying as the hosts with 8 teams from T20 World Cup making it to the tournament. Afghanistan and Bangladesh qualified based on the T20I rankings.

Teams to be qualified for T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies, USA, Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Nepal, Oman, Namibia, Uganda.