BCCI announces India’s squad for South Africa tour 2023

Title Rights For India's Home Games
Indian Cricket Team (image: BCCI)

BCCI announced squads for all formats for the upcoming India tour of South Africa 2023 which is scheduled to begin on December 10.

India’s squad for South Africa tour 2023

India is scheduled to play three T20Is, three ODIs, and Two Tests against South Africa. After completing their home tour against Australia, India will be facing South Africa in a home-away series.  On this occasion, BCCI announced their squads for all three formats.

The Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had been rested for the T20I and ODI series. With the Indian skipper being rested in short and limited over series, KL Rahul was named as the ODI captain while Suryakumar Yadav will be leading the side in the T20I format.

The Indian skipper will be leading the side for the Test series and Indian star Virat Kohli will be returning to international cricket after the World Cup for the Test match against South Africa.

The squad was announced by the BCCI chairman Ajit Agarkar after his discussion with other board members and head coach Rahul Dravid in New Delhi. The board members also discussed the Indian side’s World Cup performance.

It was reported earlier that Kohli has requested a break in the limited overs format. He was named as the Player of the Tournament in the ICC tournament where he emerged as the highest run scorer. Kohli recorded for most centuries in the ODI after smashing his 50th century during the semifinal match against New Zealand.

While announcing the squad, BCCI said, “Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had requested the Board for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour.”

Sanju Samson and Rajat Patidar were named in the ODI squad. Sai Sudharsan earned his maiden call-up for the ODI series. On the other hand, Bumrah will join the squad for the test matches.

While speaking about Shami’s availability BCCI official said, “Mohd. Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment and his availability is subject to fitness.”

India squad for T20I 

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India squad for ODI 

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India squad for Test 

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.