HomeCricketNewsShreyas Iyer Joins Elite List of Most 50-Plus Scores as Captain in...

Shreyas Iyer Joins Elite List of Most 50-Plus Scores as Captain in IPL Playoffs

The Kolkata Knight Riders captain Shreyas Iyer smashed an unbeaten 58* runs in 24 deliveries during the IPL 2024 Qualifiers 01 KKR vs SRH match to join the elite list of captains with the most fifty-plus scores in IPL Playoffs.

With his unbeaten 97-run stand with Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer helped Kolkata chase down to chase the target of 160 runs against Hyderabad in the 14th over. He becomes the fourth captain to have most fifty-plus scores in the IPL playoffs.

Only MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and David Warner have achieved the feat before the Kolkata skipper. The Former CSK captain MS Dhoni has been known for his dominance in the innings and his ability to accelerate when needed to guide his team through many crucial playoff matches.

Former Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma also known for his explosive batting has contributed with bat for the franchise, helping the side to secure five IPL titles. Former Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner has been one of the top scorers in the league. His leadership and Aggressive style have helped the side to encounter strong opponents in playoffs making him a formidable opponent.

Batting first, Hyderabad scored 159 runs losing all 10 wickets in the qualifiers one, Kolkata chased the target in the 14th over. Mitchell Starc picked three wickets in the match helping the side to restrict Hyderabad from reaching high scores. With a decent starting from Kolkata Openers, Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer took the match in hands smashing half-centuries each ensuring a quicker victory to secure a berth in the finals.

Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma opened their innings at Ahmedabad. Mitchell Starc opened the bowling attack for Kolkata and dismissed Travis Head for a duck in the second ball of the first over.

Rahul Tripathi came to bat after Head’s dismissal while Abhishek Sharma was sent back to the dugout for 3 runs by Vaibhav Arora. Meanwhile, Mitchell Starc bagged the wickets of Nitish Reddy and Shahbaz Ahmed for 9 and duck in the fifth and last ball of the fifth over.

Hyderabad suffered to score runs as they lost four wickets for 45 runs by the end of powerplay. Starc picked three wickets early to put pressure on the Hyderabad batter and gave their side a significant boost in the clash.

Klaasen joined hands with Tripathi scoring 62 runs partnership for the fifth wicket. He was dismissed by Varun Chakravarthy for 32 runs. With the dismissal of Rahul Tripathi for 55 runs on a runout, Sanvir Singh was sent out on a golden duck by Narine in the 14th over. With Abdul Samad scoring 16 runs before being dismissed by Harshit Rana, Hyderabad lost eight wickets for 125 runs.

Chakravarthy dismissed Bhuvneshwar Kumar for a duck in the 16th over. In the 19th over Sunrisers Hyderabad crossed 150 runs with an impressive six from Pat Cummins. With the dismissal of Pat Cummins for 30 on the second ball of the last over, Kolkata Knight Riders scored 159 runs losing all 10 wickets.

With the target of 160 runs, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Sunil Narine opened their innings for Hyderabad where Gurbas smashed 23 runs on 14 deliveries before being dismissed by Natarajan in the fourth over.

Sunil Narine smashed 21 runs on 16 deliveries before being dismissed by Cummins. Narine was sent out on a short ball from Cummins where the batter attempted a pull shot and Viyaskanth caught the ball in the deep square leg. By the end of the 10th over, Kolkata Knight Riders secured 107 runs losing two wickets. Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer smashed the fifties in the match to help the side win by 8 wickets in the 14th over.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read