HomeCricketNewsPlayers Announced for Asia XI against World XI : Six players from...

Players Announced for Asia XI against World XI : Six players from India and None from Pakistan

Bangladesh Cricket Board(BCB) recently released the squad details for the match between Asia XI and World XI. The two T20I match has been planned to play on next month dated March 21 and 22. Six Indian players name has been listed in the squad for Asia XI.

Players from India

“We have already received four names from India. We haven’t signed contracts but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammad Shami are supposed to come. They have said KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will play one game each, but that hasn’t been finalised,” Nazmul said.

KL Rahul will take part in only one of the two games while Virat Kohli’s participation still remains under the cloud. BCB wants Kohli to play both the T20I but considering the Indian team Schedule, it remains unconfirmed about Kohli’s participation in the match.

Kohli and Dhawan
Kohli and Dhawan

India’s upcoming matches

India currently is in New Zealand tour, after a week when New Zealand tour ends India will play a three match ODI series against South Africa begins 12th march in Dharamsala. The second game will be played in Lucknow dated March 15 and last in Kolkata on March 18. After which the expecting IPL will begin on March 29.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly’s statement

Asked about the Indian players availability for the matches BCCI president Sourav Ganguly last Friday said “they can send four to five”.

“Kohli’s name has been sent but the call on his participation lies with him and he will take it after due consultation with BCCI president Sourav Ganguly”, a BCCI source told.

Confirmed players

“Players like Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have finalised with us, from Afghanistan. Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane will play while from Sri Lanka, we will have Lasith Malinga and Thisara Perera,” Hassan said, according to an ESPNCricinfo report.

The BCB president confirmed Banglandesh players Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahmudullah and Liton Das would be available.

“Bairstow is definitely coming. Ngidi is coming. Chris Gayle is supposed to play. Faf du Plessis. We will have some of the best players around. We are uncertain about Pakistan since the PSL is will be ongoing. We will invite some of the cricketing greats,” added Hassan.

Regarding Pakistan players

The Pakistan players are unlikely to be available for the two matches, with the final of the Pakistan Super League clashing with the second T20I. “As Pakistan is having the PSL, they are uncertain.”


Asia XI:

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane.

Asia XI squad
Asia XI squad

World XI:

Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (c), Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.

World XI squad
World XI squad








Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read