HomeCricketNewsCaribbean Premier League 2020 to Begin on 18 August in Trinidad and...

Caribbean Premier League 2020 to Begin on 18 August in Trinidad and Tobago, Final On 10 September

A 33-game Caribbean Premier League Twenty20 competition will commence one month from now with defending champion Barbados Tridents against St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots and Guyana Amazon Warriors taking on the Trinbago Knight Riders.

CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe said the 18 August to 10 September competition would be arranged in two venues in Trinidad and Tobago, with the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba facilitating 23 games, including the elimination rounds and finals, and Queen’s Park Oval at Port of Spain facilitating 10 games.

The West Indies team challenged the first international cricket since the lockdown for the coronavirus pandemic when it beat England in the first Test at Southampton prior to this month. England won the subsequent Test and the series is ready with the third Test in Manchester setting off to the last day.

The West Indies players, who needed to go into about fourteen days of isolation in the wake of showing up in England a month ago in anticipation of the Test series, will come back to the Caribbean and need to adjust rapidly to the T20 design.

Much the same as the Test series in England, the six-group CPL will be played in void arenas and in a bio-secure condition with severe conventions set up to shield players and the general population from the spread of COVID-19.

“We have seen the appetite for live sport since it has returned after a prolonged absence, and the interest in CPL will be higher than ever with it being the first franchise T20 tournament to return,” O’Donohoe said.

Organizers worked with the government of Trinidad and Tobago to ensure the tournament could be staged this year.

CPL Full Squads

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Rassie van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua de Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal.

Trinbago Knight Riders: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan.

Jamaica Tallawahs: Andre Russell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Tabrais Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmad, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh.

St Lucia Zouks: Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nabi, Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Nortje, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar.

Barbados Tridents: Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Marcus Stoinis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shayan Jahangir

READ: Pravin Tambe to Play For Trinbago Knight Riders in Caribbean Premier League

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read