HomeCricketNewsAustralia Squad For England Tour 2020: Usman Khawaja And Marcus Stoinis Part...

Australia Squad For England Tour 2020: Usman Khawaja And Marcus Stoinis Part of 26-Member Preliminary Squad

Australia have named a 26-member preliminary squad for their potential tour of England in September.

Australia have included batsman Usman Khawaja and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis into their 26-member preliminary squad for their upcoming tour of England in September. Both players were part of Australia’s 2019 World Cup squad but didn’t play white-ball cricket after below par returns in the world event.

After pinning down Shaun Marsh for the No. 3 spot, Khawaja had scored 316 runs in nine ODIs at an average of 35.11 and a strike rate of 88.26 including a couple of half-centuries.

On the other hand, Stoinis’ World Cup campaign saw him scoring 87 runs in seven innings at an average of 14.50 and a strike rate of 76.99. His eight wickets had come at an economy rate of 6.10 and a strike rate of 34.2. Apart from getting dropped, the two players also lost out on national contracts.

Australia squad for England tour 2020:

Other than Khawaja and Stoinis, other high-profile inclusions are that of Test specialists Nathan Lyon and Travis Head. While Lyon was also part of Australia’s World Cup squad, Head had last played white-ball cricket during the home series against South Africa in 2018.

Wicket-keeper batsman Ben McDermott and pacer Michael Neser, who have played 12 T20Is and two ODIs respectively for Australia, also finds a place in the preliminary squad.

“This preliminary list covers the contingencies of playing one-day internationals and T20 internationals in bio-secure hubs with the likely prospect of not being able to bring in replacements should the tour proceed.

“The preliminary list includes several exciting young players who have recently excelled at state level and in the BBL. These emerging players are among those we would like to develop further as we believe they have a bright future in Australian cricket. The preliminary list also has a view towards the upcoming T20 World Cup and in the longer term the 2023 World Cup,” Australia selection chairman Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

Australia 26-member preliminary squad for England tour:

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Michael Neser, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read