HomeCricketNewsArjun Tendulkar Drafted in for the Upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Arjun Tendulkar Drafted in for the Upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Sachin Tendulkar‘s son Arjun Tendulkar has been named in the Mumbai squad for the first time, for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The news was confirmed by the Mumbai team’s chief selector Salil Ankola on Saturday.

Arjun Tendulkar has always been under the spotlight as he is the son of the great Sachin Tendulkar. But unlike his father who is still regarded as the best batsman the cricket has ever seen, Arjun is a left-arm pace-bowling all-rounder, one of the rare combinations found in India.

Left-arm pace-bowler and him being an effective batsman is a rare species in the world cricket, leave alone India. And Arjun has been impressive so far in his plight in the cricket he’s played in his age groups.

Arjun Tendulkar named in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

“Earlier the BCCI had asked to select 20 players. But later they said that 22 players can be selected in the squad, accordingly the two players were added to the squad,” an MCA official stated according to PTI.

Initially, Mumbai had named a 20-member squad, of which Arjun wasn’t a part of. Later, MCA decided to add him and another bowler Krutik. This is the first time that Arjun has made it to Mumbai senior team.

Mumbai is placed in Group E which includes Delhi, Haryana, Kerala, Andhra, and Puducherry. They play their matches on January 11, 13, 15, 17 & 19. The knockouts will be held in Ahmedabad.

Arjun Tendulkar’s last match

As far as his cricketing action is concerned, Arjun Tendulkar last played in a known cricketing match in August 2019. He featured for Marylebone Cricket Club Young Cricketers (MCC YC) team. He plays across all the formats for them and has performed decently during his limited appearances for the team.

Mumbai squad

Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Aditya Tare (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Sarfaraz Khan, Siddhesh Lad, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Sujit Nayak, Sairaj Patil, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Prathamesh Dake, Atharva Ankolekar, Shashank Attarde, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, Akash Parkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Kruthik Hanagavadi, Arjun Tendulkar

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read