which is the best team in ipl history

Table of Contents

Which is the Best Team in IPL History – The debate for the question of Which is the Best Team in IPL History has never ended since the IPL inaugural edition. It was in 2008 when the BCCI successfully staged the first season of the Indian Premier League.

Following its massive response from fans, BCCI continues to hosts the famous T20 league without skipping any season. Though in a pandemic situation BCCI hosts the IPL 2020 in UAE and decides to stage the second phase of the IPL 2021 season also in the United Arab Emirates.

Best Team in IPL History

Though cricketers play the league with great sportsmanship, the controversy for Which is the best team in IPL history always remains in heat.

One of the major reasons for this banter among the fans is due to their favorite players from all around the world get featured in the various teams of the cash-rich league.

Though fans celebrate their favorite player’s team as the best, the cricket experts judge the best team in IPL by analyzing each team based on their performance, winning percentage, and considering many other factors including the fair play points. Here take a look at the winning percentage of each IPL team since 2008:

IPL Team Winning percentage

Mumbai Indians21012284401558.095238
Chennai Super Kings18611173111359.677419
Kolkata Knight Riders20210095434249.50495
Royal Challengers Bangalore20494102352046.078431
Punjab Kings19788106400044.670051
Delhi Capitals20389107331043.842365
Rajasthan Royals1708281343148.235294
Sunrisers Hyderabad1316661301150.381679
Deccan Chargers762946011138.157895
Rising Pune Supergiants301515000050
Gujarat Lions301316100043.333333
Pune Warriors461233010026.086957
Kochi Tuskers Kerala1468000042.857143

*Deccan Chargers, Rising Pune Supergiants, Gujarat Lions, Pune Warriors, Kochi Tuskers Kerala teams were defunct owing to various reasons

Though Mumbai Indians leads the table with maximum winning in the total seasons so far they fail to lead in the winning percentage column. Yes, it is MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings leads the column of winning percentage in IPL history.

The two teams have a close difference of just 1.5 percent in the winning percentage race. Generally, CSK and MI matches have huge expectations on considering other matches in IPL. That too particularly CSK and MI finals always will have a special slot in the IPL as of India vs Pakistan matches.


MI have managed to beat CSK 18 times out of 29 games they have played against each other. They have met in the qualifiers five times. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the only two franchises to have faced each other in an IPL final four times. Out of which MI beats CSK three times in finals.

MS Dhoni who led the CSK since its inaugural edition is considered as one of the most successful captains of all time. Notably, CSK too have won the IPL trophies 3 times and holds the second position in the highest trophy winners list in IPL history.

It is worth mentioning that if CSK played the IPL for the 2016 and 2017 year’s they would have a higher winning ratio along with an additional trophy as of now. On behalf of the spot-fixing controversy in the IPL 2013 finals, CSK and RR faced 2 years ban from the IPL tournament in 2015.

On decoding the close data, it’s worth mentioning that Mumbai Indians is the best team in IPL history with 5 trophies under their name. The debate is not yet over, in terms of the most successful teams in IPL history no one can beat the Chennai Super Kings.

Mumbai Indians may be considered as the best team in IPL history in terms of winning the trophies but they still bide behind CSK in terms of winning percentage.

It’s not an easy task to maintain a winning percentage of nearly 60 with only playing 186 matches(which is 24 matches shorter than MI).

Apart from leading the percentage column, CSK have won the IPL fair play award 6 times by playing 12 seasons so far. Whereas MI have only 2 fair play award under their name.

Thus, the Chennai Super Kings are considered the most successful team in IPL history as of winning percentage calculation.

Sunrisers Hyderabad is the team to hold the third position in the table of teams with the highest winning ratio in IPL. SRH have the lowest matches to lost in IPL history on comparing to the other active teams.

Fair Play Award Winners List

Each team can earn a total of 10 fair play points in a match. The teams are allotted these points by two on-field umpires and the third umpire. Fair Play points are awarded on the following basis.

  • 4 points are allocated for playing with the right spirit of the game.
  • 2 points are allocated for showing respect towards the opposition.
  • 2 points for respecting the laws of the game.
  • 2 points for respect towards the umpires.
Year Team
IPL 2008 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2009 Kings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings)
IPL 2010 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2011 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2012 Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2013 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2014 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2015 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
IPL 2017 Gujarat Lions
IPL 2018 Mumbai Indians
IPL 2019 Sunrisers Hyderabad
IPL 2020 Mumbai Indians


IPL Winners List 

SeasonStadium (Final Match)Winner TeamRunner up Team
2008DY Patil StadiumRajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings
2009Wanderers Stadium (South Africa)Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010DY Patil StadiumChennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
2011M. A. Chidambaram StadiumChennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012M. A. Chidambaram  StadiumKolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings
2013Eden GardensMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2014M. Chinnaswamy StadiumKolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab
2015Eden GardensMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2016M. Chinnaswamy StadiumSunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers  Bangalore
2017Rajiv Gandhi StadiumMumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiant
2018Wankhede StadiumChennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad
2019Rajiv Gandhi StadiumMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2020Dubai International Cricket StadiumMumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals