HomeCricketIPLSRH Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022 - Updated List

SRH Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022 – Updated List

SRH Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022: 2016 IPL trophy winner Sunrisers Hyderabad who finished at the bottom of the IPL 2021 Points table will seek to build a team to reappear strong enough to lift their second IPL trophy.

SRH had many internal problems during their IPL 2021 campaign where 2016 trophy winner David Warner has been replaced by Kane Williamson as the skipper owing to his bad form.

After IPL 2009 this is the first time Warner ended the IPL tournament without crossing 200 runs in total. Warner scored only 195 runs on playing 8 matches in IPL 2021 with a strike rate of 107.73 which is his IPL career-worst SR.

SRH may back David Warner( if they need) over his single bad season he passed through. But if SRH seeks for captain cum foreign batsman then Kane Williamson will be the only option for them.

Read -> IPL 2022 SRH Squad For Sunrisers Hyderabad Final Squad.


  • BCCI decides to host the IPL 2022 mega auction on February 12 and 13 in Bangalore. Notably, India will play the 3rd ODI against West Indies at Kolkata on February 12.
  • SRH announces their support staffs for the IPL 2022:
      • Brian Lara – Strategic & batting coach
      • Tom Moody – Head coach
      • Simon Katich – Assistant coach
      • Muralitharan – Strategy & Spin bowling coach
      • Dale Steyn – Pace bowling coach
      • Hemang Badani – Fielding coach & Scout

  • Dale Steyn is likely to be roped in as SRH’s bowling coach.
  • Tom Moody has been appointed as Head Coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Rashid Khan is unlikely to be retained by SRH as the Afghan spinner is not willing to be SRH’s second retained player ahead of IPL 2022 mega auction. Notably, the difference between the two positions is INR 4 crore.
  • IPL 2021 retention will be live on Star Sports on November 30.
  • VVS Laxman has informed Sunrisers Hyderabad of his decision to quit as Mentor of the team.

IPL 2022 Retained Players List – SRH

Player Role
Retained Amount
Kane Williamson Batsman INR 14 Crores
Abdul Samad Bowler INR 4 Crores
Umran Malik Bowler INR 4 Crores


SRH IPL 2022 retention
SRH IPL 2022 retention

SRH Purse Value for IPL 2022 Mega Auction

Following are the details of the purse value of SRH post the IPL 2022 player’s retention:

Team Purse Reaming
Players Retained
SRH 68 CR 3


Following are the comparison of David Warner and Kane Williamson’s IPL runs in every IPL tournament since 2015.

The runs are mentioned along with the matches played by the player in that particular season. Eg: Runs(Matches)

Year David Warner Kane Williamson
2015 562(14) 31(2)
2016 848(17) 124(6)
2017 641(14) 256(7)
2018 NA 735(17)
2019 692(12) 156(9)
2020 548(16) 317(12)
2021 195(8) 266(10)

David Warner vs Kane Williamson – score comparison

SRH Released Players in IPL 2022 

Apart from the retained players SRH will release all the remaining capped and uncapped players and will purchase the needed player in the IPL 2022 Auction. The following players are released from the SRH franchise in IPL 2022 Auction.

  • Jason Roy
  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Manish Pandey
  • Priyam Garg
  • Wriddhiman Saha
  • Jason Holder
  • Rashid Khan
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Siddarth Kaul
  • Shreevats Goswami
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Jagadeesha Suchith
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Sandeep Sharma
  • Virat Singh
  • David Warner
  • Basil Thampi
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read