HomeCricketIPLDC Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022 - Updated List

DC Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022 – Updated List

DC Retained and Released Players in IPL 2022: Delhi Capitals shows their consistency by qualifying for the playoffs in the past three tournaments. DC faces Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020 finals where MI won the trophy for the fifth time.

A close report claims that “Shreyas Iyer is unlikely to be a part of the Delhi Capitals set up in the next year’s IPL”. On focusing on continuing his captaincy role Iyer may decide to get part with DC.

Iyer has been the captain for DC in IPL 2019 and 2018. Owing to the injury he had during India vs England ODI clash Pant had been replaced as DC skipper in the followed IPL season.

DC skipper Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Apart from this, the 2 new IPL teams will definitely seek an Indian skipper which opens the gate for Shreyas Iyer. Moreover, Sanju Samson who leads Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021 has played for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2017.

In terms of retention, Delhi Capitals will not release their skipper Rishabh Pant who grew as the face of the Delhi-based franchise. Apart from Pant, Delhi Capitals have a tough competition for the Indian players’ retention.

YES!! senior batsman Shikhar Dhawan, young opener Prithvi Shaw, and bowling sensation Avesh Khan plays a key role in Delhi Capitals’ successful journey in the last seasons.

DC seeks to retain Anrich Nortje or Kagiso Rabada in terms of foreign players for their bowling unit.

Read -> IPL 2022 DC Squad For Delhi Capitals Final Squad.

DC Retained and Released Players 2022

As per the BCCI rule, a team is set to be allowed to keep up to three Indian and two foreign players with the total number of retentions not exceeding four.

As per the conditions, the team management can either retain three Indian players and one overseas player or two Indian players and two overseas players. As BCCI allows 4 retentions to IPL teams in IPL 2022 mega auction thus there’ll be no RTM card available.

IPL 2022 Retained Players List – DC

Delhi Capitals retained Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje. Thinking of building a young team DC might skip their opening batter Dhawan.

Player Role
Rishabh Pant(Player No: 1)
Wicket keeper batsman
Axar Patel(Player No: 2) Bowler
Prithvi Shaw(Player No: 3) Batsman
Anrich Nortje(Player No: 4) Bowler


DC IPL 2022 Retained players
DC IPL 2022 Retained players

IPL 2022 Retention Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals will not dare to release their Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant who has learned a lot of skills from former Indian skipper MS Dhoni. DC along with Pant will seek to retain an Indian opening batsman for sure.

Delhi Capitals appoints Rishabh Pant as their skipper for IPL 2021
Delhi Capitals appoints Rishabh Pant as their skipper for IPL 2021

DC Released Players in IPL 2022

Apart from the retained players DC will release all the remaining capped and uncapped players and will purchase the needed player in the IPL 2022 Auction. The following players are expected to release from the DC franchise in IPL 2022 Auction.

  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • R Ashwin
  • Axar Patel
  • Amit Mishra
  • Lalit Yadav
  • Pravin Dubey
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Steve Smith
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Ripal Patel
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Vishnu Vinod
  • Lukman Meriwala
  • M Siddarth
  • Tom Curran
  • Sam Billings
  • Chris Woakes
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read