HomeIPLRajasthan RoyalsNew Signings of RR in IPL 2021 Auction (Updated)

New Signings of RR in IPL 2021 Auction (Updated)

From winning the maiden IPL trophy in 2008 to releasing their skipper Steve Smith ahead of the IPL 2021 Auction, Rajasthan Royals(RR) have a history of surprising cricket pundits and fans.

Rajasthan Royals Purse Value

Rajasthan Royals(RR) now has access to Rs 34.85 Cr in their auction purse

Players retained

Sanju Samson, Manan Vohra, David Miller, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat, Karik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, and Andrew Tye.

Players Released

Steve Smith

Steve Smith
Steve Smith

The prolific Australian bat Steve Smith commands a salary of Rs 12.5 crore but could not lift his side from the bottom half of the points table last season. In 14 games last season, Smith scored 311 runs with three fifties and a top score of 69 with a strike-rate of 131.22 but has been largely uninspirational as a skipper since he replaced Ajinkya Rahane.

Steve Smith, Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Akash Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Anirudha Joshi, Shashank Singh, Robin Uthappa(Traded to CSK).

Players Brought by RR by IPL 2021 Auction

  • Chris Morris has been roped for Rs. 16.25 Crores.
  • Shivam Dube roped for Rs. 4.4 Crores.
  • Chetan Sakariya roped for Rs. 1.2 Crores.
  • Mustafizur Rahman roped for Rs. 1 Crores.
  • K.C Cariappa roped for Rs. 20 Lakhs.

IPL 2021 RR New Signings

  • New Zealand wicket-keeper batsman Glenn Phillips has been named as Jofra Archer’s replacement at Rajasthan.
  • Tabraiz Shamsi, the world’s No.1-ranked T20I bowler, will join Rajasthan Royals for the remainder of IPL 2021 as the replacement for Andrew Tye.
  • Evin Lewis replaces Jos Buttler in the squad for the remainder of IPL 2021.

Who will captain Rajasthan Royals after Steve Smith is released?

Smith was appointed as the Rajasthan skipper in 2018 when the team returned after serving a two-year ban. However, the Aussie stepped down from captaincy in the wake of the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa ahead of the IPL.

However, in 2019, Smith was given the role of a captain once again in what was considered to be a ‘fresh approach’.

The Royals will have to decide on a new skipper if Smith is released. Sanju Samson, who was one of the team’s best batsmen in the 13th edition of the league, seems to be the frontrunner in this case.

Though both Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes are more experienced than Samson, it is believed that the Rajasthan Royals management is not keen on the English pair taking charge as a captain.

Rajasthan Royals(RR) Final Squad for IPL 2021

Sanju Samson (c & wk), Ben Stokes(remains uncertain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Anuj Rawat, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, KC Cariappa, Liam Livingstone, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh, Glenn Phillips, Tabraiz Shamsi, Evin Lewis.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read