CSK Captain in IPL 2024 with Vice Captain

CSK Captain in IPL 2024

CSK Captain in IPL 2024: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings have played one of their greatest comebacks in the 2023 season after finishing in 9th place in the 2022 edition.

In the 2023 IPL, Chennai Super Kings won 8 games out of the 14 league matches and finished in 2nd position in the points table. CSK have won a total of 5 trophies in IPL history so far. Most interestingly, CSK have won all their 5 trophies under MS Dhoni‘s captaincy.

CSK Captain in IPL 2024

CSK Captain in IPL 2024: The Chennai-based franchise named MS Dhoni as the captain of the CSK in the 2008 season. Under his captaincy, CSK won IPL titles 5 times and ended up as runner-up in 5 seasons.

CSK bagged MS Dhoni for USD 15,00,000 which converts to INR 6,01,80,000(USD was 40.12 against the INR on the IPL 2008 auction date of February 20, 2008).

None of the team will dare to remove this kind of captain from their team. But in the near future, CSK have to find a replacement for MS Dhoni who might retire from IPL soon. MS Dhoni announced his international retirement in 2020 and continued to play for CSK.

As of IPL 2023, MS Dhoni will lead Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2024 season while Ravindra Jadeja will be the vice-captain of the CSK.

Check out the full list of CSK Captains in IPL History below:

  • MS Dhoni: 2008-2023
  • Suresh Raina: 2010-2019(6 Matches)
  • Ravindra Jadeja – 2022-2022(8 Matches)
MS Dhoni with Jadeja(Image: IPL)

MS Dhoni also captained Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016 during CSK’s ban for their involvement in the 2013 corruption scandal. During his overall captaincy stint, MS Dhoni led the team(CSK+RPS) in 226 matches and managed to win 133 matches which makes a winning percentage of 58.84.

Replacing such a legendary captain is almost impossible for the CSK but they need to take the decision of captaincy change once MS Dhoni decides to retire from IPL.

Ahead of IPL 2022, MS Dhoni stepped down as the captain of the CSK where the Chennai-based franchise named Ravindra Jadeja as the new captain of the team. Owing to his inconsistency, R Jadeja was stripped off from the role and MS Dhoni was renamed as the captain for the remaining season.

Every CSK fan will be eager to know “Who will lead CSK after MS Dhoni?”, for those crazy fans, we have listed possible players to be named as CSK’s Next Captain after MSD’s IPL retirement.

Ahead of the Indian Premier League 2024, BCCI planned to host a mini-auction for the tournament in Dubai on December 19.

For the IPL 2024 Auction, CSK will retain many of their players and might release some of the less utilized players to increase the auction purse value.

In addition to the purse remaining from the previous auction and the value of the players they release, teams will have an additional INR 5 crore to spend in the auction.

As of the previous season, BCCI allowed franchises to use the “TRADE” option where teams can exchange players between them.

CHECKIPL 2024 RCB Squad with New Signings in Auction

IPL 2024 CSK Squad

IPL 2024 CSK Squad: Check out IPL 2024 Chennai Super Kings Squad details with role and auction price details below:

Player Role Auction Price Nation
MS Dhoni (wk)(c) WK-Batsman INR 12 Cr(R) India
Ruturaj Gaikwad Batsman INR 6 Cr(R) India
Ambati Rayudu (wk) WK- Batsman INR 6.75 crores(R) India
Devon Conway Batsman INR 1 crores(R) New Zealand
Subhranshu Senapati Batsman INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Deepak Chahar Bowler INR 14 crores(R) India
Tushar Deshpande Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Maheesh Theekshana Bowler INR 70 Lakhs(R) Sri Lanka
Simranjeet Singh Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Matheesha Pathirana Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) Sri Lanka
Akash Singh Bowler INR 20 Lakhs India
Prashant Solanki Bowler INR 1.20 crores(R) India
Mitchell Santner Bowler INR 1.90 crores(R) New Zealand
Rajvardhan Hangargekar Bowler INR 1.50 crores(R) India
Ravindra Jadeja All-rounder INR 16 Cr(R) India
Moeen Ali All-rounder INR 8 Cr(R) England
Shivam Dube All-rounder INR 4 crores(R) India
Dwaine Pretorius All-rounder INR 50 Lakhs(R) South Africa
Ben Stokes All-rounder INR 16.25 Crores England
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman INR 50 Lakhs India
Sisanda Magala Bowler INR 50 lakh South Africa
Nishant Sindhu All-rounder INR 20 Lakhs India
Shaik Rasheed Batsman INR 20 Lakhs India
Ajay Mandal Bowler INR 20 Lakhs India
Bhagath Verma All-rounder INR 20 Lakhs India