HomeCricketICC Full Form, Partners, Revenue and Member Countries - Updated

ICC Full Form, Partners, Revenue and Member Countries – Updated

ICC Full Form: The International Cricket Council is the global governing body for cricket. Representing 106 members, the ICC governs and administrates the game and works with our members to grow the sport. The ICC is also responsible for the staging of all ICC Events.

The ICC presides over the ICC Code of Conduct, playing conditions, the DRS(Decision Review System), and other ICC regulations. The ICC also appoints all match officials that officiate at all sanctioned international matches. Through the Anti-Corruption Unit, it coordinates action against corruption and match-fixing.

ICC Full Form

It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from Australia, England, and South Africa. It was renamed as the International Cricket Conference in 1965 and took up its current name International Cricket Council in 1987. The ICC has its headquarters in Dubai, UAE.

The ICC does not control bilateral fixtures between member countries (which include all Test matches), and neither does it govern domestic cricket within member countries. It does not make or alter the laws of the game, which have remained under the governance of the Marylebone Cricket Club since 1788.

The ICC is responsible for the organisation and governance of cricket’s major international tournaments, most notably the Cricket World Cup and the T20 World Cup. It also appoints the umpires and referees that officiate at all sanctioned Test matches, One Day Internationals and Twenty20 Internationals.

ICC Officials

The Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) is the highest position in the governing body of world cricket. The position was established as an honorary post in 2014 after a revamp of the management of ICC.

Greg Barclay
Greg Barclay
Chairman Greg Barclay
Chief Executive Geoff Allardice
Independent Female Director Indra Nooyi
Associate Member Directors
Mahinda Vallipuram
Neil Speight
Imran Khwaja

ICC Board Directors and Alternate Director

Country Board Directors
Alternate Director
Afghanistan TBC TBC
Australia Richard Freudenstein TBC
Bangladesh Nazmul Hassan
Mahbub ul Anam
England & Wales Martin Darlow Barry O’Brien
India Sourav Ganguly Jay Shah
Ireland Ross McCollum Michael Howard
New Zealand Martin Snedden TBC
Pakistan Ramiz Raja TBC
South Africa Lawson Naidoo TBC
Sri Lanka Shammi Silva Mohan de Silva
West Indies Richard Skerritt
Dr. Kishore Shallow
Zimbabwe Tavengwa Mukuhlani Ronald Chibwe

ICC Popular Events

ICC conducts all the major cricket global events for both men and women across all member countries. Following are some of the popular events hosts by ICC:

Men’s Cricket
ICC Cricket World Cup
ICC T20 World Cup
ICC U19 Cricket World Cup
ICC World Test Championship
Women’s Cricket
ICC Women’s World Cup
ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

ICC Partners

The ICC offers different levels of partnerships tailored to suit the brand marketing strategy of international and regional sponsors. The partnership packages are structured across different tiers, each aimed at helping deliver the brand’s investment.

The current ICC partners are:

Global Partners
MRF Tyres
Official Partners
Bira 91
Star Sports
Category Partners
Royal Stag
Jacob’s Creek
Broadcast Partners Star Sports
Social Responsibility Cricket 4 good

ICC Members Countries

Full Members –The twelve governing bodies of teams that have full voting rights within the International Cricket Council and play official Test matches.

Associate Members – The 94 governing bodies in countries where cricket is firmly established and organized, but have not been granted Full Membership yet.

Team Region Admitted
England Europe 1909
Australia East Asia-Pacific 1909
South Africa Africa 1909
West Indies Americas 1926
New Zealand East Asia-Pacific 1926
India Asia 1926
Pakistan Asia 1952
Sri Lanka Asia 1981
Zimbabwe Africa 1992
Bangladesh Asia 2000
Ireland Europe 2017
Afghanistan Asia 2017

ICC Revenue

The ICC generates income from the tournaments it organises, primarily the Cricket World Cup, and it distributes the majority of that income to its members.

Sponsorship and television rights of the World Cup brought in over US$1.6 billion between 2007 and 2015, by far the ICC’s main source of income.

In the nine-month accounting period to 31 December 2007, the ICC had an operating income of $12.66 million, mainly from member subscriptions and sponsorship.

ICC Trophies
ICC Trophies

In contrast, event income was US$285.87 million, including $239 million from the 2007 World Cup. There was also an investment income of $6.695 million in the period.

The ICC has no income streams from the bilateral international cricket matches (Test matches, One Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals), that account for the great majority of the international playing schedule, as they are owned and run by its members.

It has sought to create other new events to augment its World Cup revenues. These include the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Super Series played in Australia in 2005.

However, these events have not been as successful as the ICC hoped. The Super Series was widely seen as a failure and is not expected to be repeated, and India called for the Champions Trophy to be scrapped in 2006.

The ICC World Twenty20, first played in 2007, was a success. The ICC’s current plan is to have an international tournament every year, with a Twenty20 World Cup played in even number years, the World Cup continuing to be held the year before the Olympic Games, and the ICC Champions Trophy in the remaining year of the cycle. This cycle began in 2010, one year after the 2009 edition.

ICC Awards

The ICC has instituted the ICC Awards to recognize and honor the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months. The inaugural ICC Awards ceremony was held on 7 September 2004, in London.

ICC Awards
ICC Awards

In 2020, ICC announced a special one-off edition, the ICC Awards of the Decade to honor the best performers and performances in the last 10 years.

In order to recognize individuals, the governing body nominates

Men’s category

  • ICC Test Cricketer of the Year
  • ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year
  • ICC T20I Cricketer of the Year
  • Gary Sobers Award for the ICC Cricketer of the Year

women’s cricketers are awarded for their efforts in the ODIs, T20Is, and the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for being the Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

ICC Global Cricket Academy

The ICC Global Cricket Academy (GCA) is located at Dubai Sports City in the United Arab Emirates.

The GCA’s facilities include two ovals, each with 10 turf pitches, outdoor turf and synthetic practice facilities, indoor practice facilities including hawk eye technology, and a cricket-specific gymnasium.

Rod Marsh has been appointed as the academy’s Director of Coaching. The opening, originally planned for 2008, took place in 2010.

ICC Global Cricket Academy
ICC Global Cricket Academy
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read