HomeCricketBBLSydney Thunder Signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for the Upcoming BBL 2022-23

Sydney Thunder Signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for the Upcoming BBL 2022-23

Sydney Thunder has signed Afghanistan pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi for the upcoming Big Bash League 2022-23. As per BBL 2022-23 schedule, the first match will be played on December 13 where Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars lock horns to play the first match in Manuka Oval.

Fazalhaq Farooqi Joins Sydney Thunder 

Fazalhaq Farooqi made his first-class debut for Amo Region in the 2017–18 Ahmad Shah Abdali 4-day Tournament on 13 November 2017.

“Fazalhaq Farooqi is an emerging talent,” Head of Thunder, Andrew Gilchrist, said. “He joins Thunder in great form after playing exceptional cricket in the World T20 Cup and the Asia Cup tournament. While it was very disappointing to have lost David Willey, it has opened the door for Farooqi to further enhance his reputation and growing status in world cricket.

“Afghanistan has enjoyed a tremendous representation in the BBL over the years. Rashid Khan has been embraced by Adelaide Strikers fans as a genuine superstar and honorary South Australian resident, while others, including Zahir Khan, Noor Ahmad and Mohammad Nabi (Renegades), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Heat) and Qais Ahmad (Stars) have made their marks.

We fully expect Fazalhaq will only further enhance the growing reputation of cricketers from Afghanistan being fearless cricketers and extraordinary entertainers.”

Fazalhaq Farooqi was bought by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2022 mega auction. Moreover, SRH released Kane Williamson but retained Fazalhaq Farooqi for the upcoming IPL 2023. READ: IPL 2023 Retained Players List – All Teams Retained Players.

In IPL 2021 season, CSK roped Fazalhaq Farooqi as their net bowler. Fazalhaq Farooqi so far played 17 T20I matches and bagged 21 wickets at an economy rate of 6.77.

Fazalhaq Farooqi made an impressive performance in the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2022 where he ended the tournament with an economy rate of 6.52 and ended up with figures of 2/29 against Australia in Afghanistan’s final Super 12 game which they narrowly lost.

Sydney Thunder Squad

Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read