HomeCricketWorld Test ChampionshipWTC Winner List With Runner-up, Venue, Records - UPDATED

WTC Winner List With Runner-up, Venue, Records – UPDATED

WTC Winner List: World Test Championship or WTC is the premier championship for Test cricket run by International Cricket Council (ICC) since 2019.

World Test Championship is a league competition that runs for a period of 2 years where the top 2 teams of the WTC points table will advance to the final game.

Though the WTC final is considered as an ICC event, its league games were not considered as an ICC event and the broadcasting rights were with the host nation’s cricketing board itself and not with ICC. The first tournament began with the 2019 Ashes series.

The inaugural WTC Final was played between India and New Zealand from 18 to 23 June 2021 at Rose Bowl, Southampton, England. Despite the opening and fourth day of the final being washed out by rain, the Kiwi managed to win in the final session of the reserve day and lifted the first World Test Championship trophy.

WTC Winner List

WTC Winner List: India is the only team to have qualified for the WTC final game 2 consecutive times.

WTC winner 2023
Australia won the WTC 2023 final by beating India(Image: ICC)

Check out the WTC Winner List with runner-up and player of the match details below:

Year Final host Venue Winners Result Runners-up Player of the match
2023–25  England Lord’s, London To be confirmed To be confirmed To be confirmed To be confirmed
2021–23  England The Oval, London  Australia Australia won by 209 runs  India Travis Head(AUS)
2019–21  England Rose Bowl, Southampton  New Zealand New Zealand won by 8 wickets  India Kyle Jamieson(NZ)

WTC Records

WTC Records: As of every ICC tournament WTC too have various record categories. Following are the details of the WTC Records under various categories:

Category Name Stats
Most runs Joe Root 4050
Most hundreds Joe Root 11
Most runs in a single tournament Joe Root 1915 (2021-2023)
Most hundreds in a single tournament Joe Root 8 (2021–23)
Highest average Saud Shakeel 72.5
Highest score David Warner v Pakistan 335* (2019–21)
Most wickets Nathan Lyon 139
Most wickets in a single tournament Nathan Lyon 83 (2021–23)
Best average SM Boland 13.42
Best bowling in an innings Ajaz Patel v India 10/119 (2021–23)
Best bowling in a match Ajaz Patel v India 14/225 (2021–23)
Highest score New Zealand v Pakistan 659/6d (2019–21)
Lowest score India v Australia 36 (2019–21)
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read