HomeWorld CupT20I World CupList of Hat trick Wickets in T20 World Cup - Full List

List of Hat trick Wickets in T20 World Cup – Full List

Hat Trick Wickets in T20 World Cup: Hat-trick is a term used in cricket to mention the event when a bowler takes three wickets with consecutive deliveries.

The consecutive deliveries may be interrupted by an over bowled by another bowler during the inning. But the player should complete three consecutive wicket-taking deliveries in the same match.

Hat Trick wickets in T20 World Cup

Former Australian legendary bowler Brett Lee bagged the first hattrick wicket in T20 World Cup history. During a match against Bangladesh in the 2007 T20 World Cup, Lee dismissed Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, and Alok Kapali and became the first player to bag a T20 World Cup hat trick.

Bowler Team Against Dismissed Players Venue Match Date
Brett Lee
Shakib Al Hasan (c Adam Gilchrist)
Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town
16 September 2007
Mashrafe Mortaza (b)
Alok Kapali (lbw)
Curtis Campher
Colin Ackermann (c †Neil Rock)
Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
18 October 2021
Ryan ten Doeschate (lbw)
Scott Edwards (lbw)
Roelof van der Merwe (b)
Wanindu Hasaranga
Sri Lanka
South Africa
Aiden Markram (b)
Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
6 November 2021
Temba Bavuma (c Pathum Nissanka)
Dwaine Pretorius (c Bhanuka Rajapaksa)
Kagiso Rabada
South Africa
Chris Woakes (c Anrich Nortje)
Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
10 November 2021
Eoin Morgan (c Keshav Maharaj)
Chris Jordan (c David Miller)
Karthik Meiyappan
United Arab Emirates
Sri Lanka
Bhanuka Rajapaksa (c Kashif Daud)
Kardinia Park, Geelong
18 October 2022
Charith Asalanka (c Vriitya Aravind)
Dasun Shanaka (b)
Joshua Little
New Zealand
Kane Williamson (c Gareth Delany)
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
4 November 2022
James Neesham (lbw)
Mitchell Santner (lbw)


CHECKMost Wickets in T20 World Cup History 2007-2024

Most Wicket-taker in T20 World Cup Year Wise

Wanindu Hasaranga’s 16 wickets in 2021 remains the most wickets by a player in a single ICC Men’s T20 World Cup edition.

Year Player Wickets  Team
2022 Wanindu Hasaranga 15 Sri Lanka
2021 Wanindu Hasaranga 16 Sri Lanka
2016 Mohammad Nabi 13 Afghanistan
2014 Imran Tahir 12 South Africa
2012 Ajantha Mendis 15 Sri Lanka
2010 Dirk Nannes 14 Australia
2009 Umar Gul 13 Pakistan
2007 Umar Gul 13 Pakistan


Who Bagged the First Hat Trick in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup?

Former Australian bowler Brett Lee bagged the first T20 World Cup hat trick in 2007 against Bangladesh. Lee dismissed Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, and Alok Kapali in a match against Bangladesh on 16 September 2007 at Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read