HomeWorld CupT20I World CupT20 WC 2021: Australia Announces Squad Under Aaron Finch

T20 WC 2021: Australia Announces Squad Under Aaron Finch

Australia T20 WC Squad: Cricket Australia has named a star-studded squad for their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 campaign, with captain Aaron Finch and Steve Smith among a host of big names returning to action.

Australia T20 WC Squad

The likes of Pat Cummins, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell and Kane Richardson return to the set-up having missed the recent tours to West Indies and Bangladesh.

The selectors have also sprung a surprise by including uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Josh Inglis ahead of Alex Carey, who led the side in the ODI series in West Indies.


Inglis had recently finished the group stages of the Vitality T20 Blast in England as the competition’s leading run-scorer.

“We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said.

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts. He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability, and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Alongside Warner, Finch, Steve Smith, Maxwell, and Stoinis, Australia’s batting will be bolstered by Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, and Inglis.

Carey and Philippe were not the only notable omissions, with eight members from Australia’s winter campaigns left out of the touring party, including Moises Henriques, Ashton Turner, and Andrew Tye.

Cummins joins what looks like a scintillating attack on the paper, with Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Kane Richardson all selected alongside spinners Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar, and Mitchell Swepson.

All-rounders Dan Christian and Daniel Sams, and fast bowler Nathan Ellis have been named as traveling reserves.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” Bailey said.

Australia squad

Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read