Yashasvi Jaiswal completes 1000 Test Runs; Fastest Indian to achieve the Feat

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal(Image: X)

Yashasvi Jaiswal has become the fastest Indian to complete 1000 Test runs during the first innings of the fifth test of England’s tour of India 2024.

Yashasvi Jaiswal completes 1000 Test Runs

Yashasvi Jaiswal just took nine matches to complete 1000 Test runs, surpassing Sunil Gavaskar and Cheteshwar Pujara’s record of 11 matches.

In terms of innings, Jaiswal is the second fastest to achieve this feat. He took 16 innings while Vinod Kambli completed the feat in 14 innings. Pujara took 18 innings to complete the feat.

The 22 year 70 days old Jaiswal becomes the fourth youngest Indian batter to cross the 1000 run mark joining Indian legends Sachin Tendulkar (19Y 217D), Kapil Dev (21Y, 27D), Ravi Shastri (21Y, 197D), and Dilip Vengsarkar (22Y, 293D).

Yashasvi Jaiswal made his test debut during India’s tour of West Indies 2023 and has two double centuries with the career best of 214 not out.

He has three centuries and three fifties to his name in the test format. He also surpassed Virat Kohli’s record to have the most runs scored in a single series.

He amassed a total of 712 in this series so far and has joined the list of players to score the most runs in a single series.

Coming to the match, England chose to bat first and scored 218 runs where Zak Crawley was the only scorer smashing 79 runs on 108 deliveries including 11 fours and one six. Kuldeep Yadav collapsed the England’s top-order batting line-up.

Duckett, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, and Ben Foakes are the other scorers of the first innings of the fifth test. Jonny Bairstow completed 6000 test runs at Dharamsala where he scored 29 runs. Kuldeep Yadav bagged five wickets while Ashwin became handy with his fourth test in his 100th test match.

England was sent out with 218 runs on the 58th over of the match. With a trail of 218 runs, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma opened the innings on day 01 in the fifth test.

Their partnership made 104 runs for the first wicket where Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed 57 runs on 58 deliveries before being dismissed by Shoaib Bashir.

Shubman Gill came to bat and scored 26* runs while Rohit Sharma scored 52* runs by the end of day 01 at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala.