HomeCricketNewsICC Announces WTC Prize Money 2023

ICC Announces WTC Prize Money 2023

WTC Prize Money 2023: The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the prize amount for the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle. According to an official report, a total of INR 31.4 crores will be shared among the nine teams.

ICC Announces WTC Prize Money 2023

India and Australia will lock horns to play the WTC 2023 final game from June 7 to 11 at The Oval, London, England. Earlier we have listed the live-streaming details of the grand event for various locations along with schedule details.

Now in this section, we have discussed the WTC Prize Money 2023 along with the share details that each team will get.

Following are the details of the WTC Prize Money 2023 for 9 teams:

  • 1st Prize: INR 13.22 crore (approx)
  • 2nd Prize: INR 6.61 crore (approx)
  • 3rd Prize: INR 3.72 crore (approx)
  • 4th Prize: INR 2.9 crores (approx)
  • 5th Prize: INR 1.65 crore (approx)
  • 6th Prize: INR 82.7 lakh (approx)
  • 7th Prize: INR 82.7 lakh (approx)
  • 8th Prize: INR 82.7 lakh (approx)
  • 9th Prize: INR 82.7 lakh (approx)

The winners of the WTC Final will take home a whopping prize of Rs 13.22 crore (approx.) while the runners-up will pocket Rs 6.61 crore (approx.).

“There is no change in the tournament prize money, which remains the same as that for the inaugural edition of the championship (2019-21) with a total purse of $3.8 million (Rs 13.22 crore approx.). Kane Williamson’s New Zealand were rewarded with $1.6 million (Rs 6.61 crore approx.) in Southampton in 2021 after they sealed an eight-wicket win over India in the rain-marred six-day WTC final,” the ICC said in a release.

New Zealand won the inaugural edition of WTC
New Zealand won the inaugural edition of WTC

South Africa, who missed out on a WTC final spot and sits third in the points table, will receive Rs 3.72 crore approx.

“England, who made a late surge and finished their campaign in fourth spot, will bag $350,000 (2.9 crores approx.).”

“Sri Lanka, who were among the top teams in the race for a spot in the decider during the epic finale, finished fifth to earn $200,000 (Rs 1.65 crore approx).

“The remaining teams New Zealand (No.6), Pakistan (No.7), West Indies (No.8), and Bangladesh (No.9) will be rewarded with a sum of $100,000 each (Rs 82.7 lakh approx.),” the statement added.

WTC 2023 Final Date

The World Test Championship will be played between India and Australia from June 7 to 11 with the reserve day on 12 June.

WTC 2023 Final Venue

The 2023 WTC Final game will be played at The Oval in England. The South London venue has hosted over 100 Test matches in its rich history. It was the first ground in England to host international Test cricket in September 1880.

The final Test match of the English season is traditionally played there. It also hosted the final of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read