Stafanie Taylor Named in West Indies Women’s T20I Tri-Series 2023 Squad

Stafanie Taylor
Stafanie Taylor

West Indies Women’s T20I Tri-Series 2023 Squad: The 2011 ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year winner Stafanie Taylor makes her return to the West Indies team for the upcoming T20I series in South Africa.

Stafanie Named in West Indies Squad For Women’s T20I Tri-Series 2023

The Women T20I tri-series is scheduled to play in South Africa between South Africa Women, India Women, and West Indies women. The tournament will be played between January 19 to February 2.

All matches of the series will be played at Buffalo Park, East London. The tri-series will act as a preparatory camp for the teams ahead of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 scheduled to play in South Africa.

Stafanie Taylor suffered an injury while batting in an ODI against New Zealand at North Sound in September. Subsequently, she missed the entire home series against England which the visitors swept, in part due to a series of inept performances with the bat by the West Indies.

“Our batting in the most recent series was less than par against a very good England bowling attack. We believe that with the return of some experienced batters, they will be able to support captain Hayley Matthews at the top of the order,” lead selector Ann Browne-John said.

“The team had commendable performances [during the four ODIs] in South Africa in early 2022, and we know that the entire team will be drawing on that experience as they take on the home team and India in this tri-Series and then potentially again at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup also in South Africa.”

West Indies will also welcome back experience in the fast bowling department with Shamilia Connell and Shakera Selman having shrugged off minor injuries to make the squad.

West Indies Women’s T20I Tri-Series 2023 Squad

Hayley Matthews (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Chedean Nation, Cherry Ann Fraser, Afy Fletcher, Shabika Gajnabi, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams