HomeCricketNewsUAE T20 League: Andy Flower Named as Gulf Giants Coach

UAE T20 League: Andy Flower Named as Gulf Giants Coach

The Adani Group who purchased a franchise in the UAE T20 league (ILT20) have named their team as Gulf Giants and went on to rope former England and current Lucknow Super giants coach Andy Flower as their coach for the maiden season.

Andy Flower Named as Gulf Giants Coach

On Tuesday (July 12), the group unveiled the logo of the team and said, “The Gulf Giants franchise will be part of the Adani Sportsline, the sports arm of the Adani Group. On Tuesday (July 12), the group unveiled the logo of the team and said, “The ‘Gulf Giants’ is an extension of Adani Sportsline’s brand – Gujarat Giants.

Adani Sportsline engages with fans through popular Indian leagues such as the Pro Kabaddi League, the Big Bout Boxing League, and the Ultimate Kho Kho League under this brand. Similarly, it aims to engage and connect with cricket fans worldwide through the brand, Gulf Giants, at the UAE ILT20.”

About signing Flower, the group said, “Andy, arguably Zimbabwe’s greatest ever cricketer, brings three decades of cricketing experience.

Flower has previously coached the national teams, England and Afghanistan, as well as franchise teams such as Punjab Kings (IPL), Maratha Arabians (Abu Dhabi T10), and Multan Sultans (PSL), St Lucia Kings (CPL), and Delhi Bulls (Abu Dhabi T10).”

Flower said he is excited to be part of the venture. “I am very proud to be associated with the Adani Group, particularly Adani Sportsline. Most people are aware of the company’s power, size and reach in general, and it’s wonderful to see their commitment to sports.

It’s exciting to be a part of any of the big franchise tournaments, and the ILT20 has big plans to be a major franchise tournament. As leaders, our job is to serve the players as best we can, and this principle is very important to me,” said the former Zimbabwe captain.

Earlier a report states that the Glazer family and Capri Global, also part of the league, have signed up with Tom Moody and R Sridhar as their cricket/coach directors. Three other franchises of the six-team league are Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, and GMR. The league will run from January 6 to February 12.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read