HomeCricketNewsSudharsan, Jitesh and Harshit drafted to India Squad for Zimbabwe T20Is

Sudharsan, Jitesh and Harshit drafted to India Squad for Zimbabwe T20Is

Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma, and Harshit Rana have been drafted to India’s 15-member squad to play the first two T20Is of India’s tour of Zimbabwe 2024.

Sudharsan, Jitesh, and Harshit were drafted to India Squad for Zimbabwe T20Is

Sudharsan, Jitesh, and Harshit Rana will be replacing Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, and Shivam Dube for the first and second T20Is against Zimbabwe.

Dube, Samson, and Jaiswal were all part of the Indian squad which won the T20 World Cup in the USA and Caribbean. But these trio are struck in Barbados due to Hurricane threat in Bridgetown. The trio will travel to India before departing for Zimbabwe.

With the Indian team set to arrive in Delhi on Wednesday, BCCI has decided to send Sudharsan, Jitesh, and Harshit as the replacements for the first two matches.

“The Men’s Selection Committee has named Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma, and Harshit Rana as replacements for Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe.”

“Originally slated to join the Zimbabwe-bound squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series starting Saturday, 6th July, the trio will travel to India first with the rest of the ICC T20 World Cup-winning Indian squad before departing for Harare,” wrote BCCI statement.

Rinku Singh and Khaleel Ahmed who were reserves for the World Cup are likely to join the squad in Harare directly from the Caribbean. Shubman Gill who was on holiday after being released from travelling reserves, will directly join the squad from the USA.

Sai Sudharsan who made his international debut during India’s tour of South Africa last year, has received his first call-up for the T20I side. He was currently engaged in the County Championship playing for Surrey. He will likely join the squad on July 04.

Jitesh Sharma has also earned a call cup after his disappointing IPL 2024 as he scored only 187 runs in the 12 innings he played.

On the other hand, Harshit Rana who was part of the KKR that won the IPL 2024, has been at BCCI’s national cricket academy and is set to join the squad for Zimbabwe T20Is. The first match of the T20I series will be played on July 06 at Harare Sports Club.

India Squad for first and second T20Is

Shubman Gill (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Harshit Rana

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read