HomeCricketNewsShaheen Afridi joins Desert Vipers on a three-year contract

Shaheen Afridi joins Desert Vipers on a three-year contract

Ahead of the second edition of the ILT20 tournament, Desert Vipers signs Shaheen Shah Afridi. The Pakistani international player Shaheen Afridi was known as one of the best bowlers in the World. The second season of ILT20 is scheduled to begin on January 13 and Afridi could join the team after returning from Australia.

Shaheen Afridi joins Desert Vipers on a three-year contract

The inaugural season of the ILT20 is held from January 13, 2023, to February 12, 2023. The ICC had announced that ILT20 will be not numbered in List-A.

Shaheen Afridi who remains as one of the impressive bowlers, has signed a three years contract with Dessert Vipers ahead of the second season of ILT20.  Afridi holds an impressive record and has an accumulative total of 239 wickets over 27 Test matches, 36 ODIs, and 52 T20 internationals.

He becomes the first Pakistani player to be signed by an ILT20 team. The same franchise attempted to sign a few Pakistan players last year.

But due to various NOC issues by the Pakistan Cricket Board, it did not happen. The other franchises in the six-team league stopped signing a Pakistani Player after the incident.

“Shaheen is undeniably a player of world-class caliber who has left a significant impact not only on Pakistan cricket but also on every team he’s represented in recent times,” commented Tom Moody, the Director of Cricket for the Vipers.

“His prowess as a pace bowler has dismantled numerous top-order batsmen, and his exceptional leadership skills will undoubtedly enhance the value of the Desert Vipers going forward.

We are delighted to have secured a player of his stature, someone highly esteemed in the world of cricket,” Moody further added.

Afridi expressed his enthusiasm, stating, “I am thrilled to be a part of the Desert Vipers. I am aware of the considerable number of Pakistani cricket fans in the UAE, and I am hopeful that they will wholeheartedly support our team throughout the upcoming ILT20 tournament.”

Andre Russell, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sikandar Raza, Chris Lynn, Kiron Pollard, and Chris Woakes will be a part of the T20 bigwigs who will showcase their Prowess in Abu Dhabi and Sharjah in the second season.

In his T20 debut in 2018, Shaheen made impressive progress across formats. Last year, he was adjudged the ICC Player of the Year and earned The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, the ICC award for a cricketer.

Shaheen’s signing adds even more value and quality to an already star-studded line-up of T20 stars in the ILT20.

The six franchises have succeeded in retaining some of the biggest names in the global T20 circuit including last year’s top run-getter Alex Hales and the highest wicket-taker Chris Jordan.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read