HomeCricketNewsRuturaj Gaikwad Hits his 2nd IPL Century; First Hundred as CSK Captain

Ruturaj Gaikwad Hits his 2nd IPL Century; First Hundred as CSK Captain

The CSK Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad Smashes his first century of the IPL 2024 season during the home game against Lucknow on April 23.

He becomes the eighth captain in the IPL to score a century and also the first century as CSK captain. He achieved the feat in 56 balls and surpassed former Captain MS Dhoni‘s highest score of 84 runs.

IPL Centuries by Captains

  • KL Rahul – 132*, 103*, 103*
  • David Warner – 126
  • Virender Sehwag – 119
  • Sanju Samson – 119
  • Virat Kohli – 113, 109, 108*, 100*, 100
  • Adam Gilchrist – 106
  • Sachin Tendulkar – 100*
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad – 107**

The Chennai Super Kings are playing against LSG on a special day as it was the anniversary of the first IPL game at Chepauk.

Lucknow secured an 8-wicket victory during the IPL 2024 match on April 19 on their home ground and Chennai is looking for victory in home ground. KL Rahul’s impressive knock of 82 runs on 53 deliveries helped the side in the match.

Coming to the match, Lucknow Super Giants won the toss and opted to bowl. Batting first Chennai Super Kings lost their first wicket as Ajinkya Rahane was sent out with 1 run by Matt Henry on the first over of the innings.

Daryl Mitchell who was brought in as a replacement as Rachin Ravindra, was sent out by Yash Thakur for 11 runs. With the dismissal of Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube joined forces with Ruturaj Gaikwad to hand a partnership score of 104 runs for the 4th wicket.

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 108* runs on 60 deliveries including 12 fours and 3 sixes while Shivam Dube smashed 66 runs on 27 deliveries. Their partnership score helped the side to score 210 runs in 20 overs.

With the target of 211 runs, Lucknow Super Giants opened their innings where Deepak Chahar dismissed Quinton de Kock for a duck.

With the dismissal of KL Rahul for 16 runs, LSG lost two wickets for 32. Pathirana dismissed Devdutt Padikkal and Nicholas Pooran for 13 and 34 runs while Marcus Stoinis went to smash a century. During the final over of the match, Stoinis went to score 124 runs on 63 deliveries and won the match by 6 wickets.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read