Quinton de Kock smashes 21st Fifty in IPL; Equals Suryakumar Yadav in Feat

quinton de Kock

The Wicketkeeper batter Quinton de Kock hits his first fifty of the IPL 2024 season during the match against Punjab Kings at Lucknow Stadium.

Quinton de Kock smashes 21st Fifty in IPL

The South African opener smashed 54 runs on 38 balls in the match against Punjab Kings on Saturday. After the departure of KL Rahul and Padikkal for 15 and 9 runs, de Kock smashed fifty in the match before being sent out by Arshdeep Singh on the 14th over of their innings.

de Kock was in and out of the team in IPL 2023 and also was dismissed for four runs during LSG’s opening match against Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur on March 24. But he has broken through the bowling attacks of Kagiso Rabada and Arshdeep Singh.

It was the 21st fifty in the IPL history equalling Suryakumar Yadav‘s tally of fifties in the T20 league. de Kock has hit two hundred in the IPL and is only one behind legendary MS Dhoni in the list of batters with the most fifties in the tournament.

David Warner tops the list with sixty-five 50+ scores since his debut during the season IPL 2008 while Virat Kohli stands second with fifty-nine 50+ scores in the IPL history.

Stoinis scored 19 runs on 12 deliveries including two sixes and was dismissed by Rahul Chahar. Nicholas Pooran was the other scorer for LSG smashing 42 runs on 21 deliveries including 3 sixes and 3 fours. Lucknow was only with 146 runs during the dismissal of Pooran, but with the likes of Krunal Pandya, they were able to pull out a score of 199.

With Ayush Badoni’s dismissal for 8 runs by Sam Curran, Krunal Pandya smashed 43* runs on 22 deliveries with four fours and 2 sixes. Sam Curran was the leading wicket-taker for Punjab Kings bagging three wickets for 28 runs on four overs while Arshdeep Singh bagged two wickets for 30 runs in 3 overs.

With the target of 200 runs, Punjab Kings started their innings, where Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow opened smashing a partnership of 100 runs in the 11th over of the match for no wicket loss during the time of writing at Ekana Sports City, Lucknow.